The Parents by Claire Seeber ~ 4⭐

Genre: Phycological Suspense ~ Release date: October 25, 2021

REVIEW: Do you love football? Or soccer? In the United States we call it soccer in England it is football. Well, if you love soccer and Psychological Suspense, you’ll love Claire Seeber’s new book The Parents.

I found her characters interesting. I always think of the English as stiff people and yet these folks weren’t that way. Although, I think all of them had problems going on in the background. Alex is the newcomer and she is widowed with two children. She has a 13 year old boy who decides to play football whose name is Harry and a girl named Iris who is the oldest and hates her mom. There were a lot of characters and I didn’t find myself particularly involved with any of them. 

Someone is digging into the background of the parents of the local team and spilling all the dirt on a vlog. That was interesting because everyone in town was waiting for the next shoe to drop. Most of that was pretty shocking. 

I don’t think I’ve ever watched a game of soccer so, I was pretty clueless when they were talking about the game, it’s different levels and whatnot. Most of the book took place around the team schedule and the clubhouse. Interestingly, they had a bar in the club. That’s something we don’t see here in the states. 

I’ll have my eye out for more from Claire Seeber. She has three other books that I’m going to check out. Maybe they won’t be about football or soccer! This girl is not a sports fan. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from #Bookouture and #Netgalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: It seems like they have it all. But we all have something to hide…

Moving to this village was supposed to be a fresh start for me and my thirteen-year-old son Harry. After the tragic death of my husband, it was a chance to leave everything bad behind and make better memories at Primrose Cottage, the postcard-perfect house with honeysuckle around the door.

However, things haven’t exactly been easy since we arrived, and after what we’ve been though, I’m scared of letting anyone new into our lives.

But when one of the local dads asks Harry to join the weekend sports club, I find myself saying yes. The smile on my son’s face gives me hope that I might have made the right decision in uprooting our lives.

All the other parents seem so kind in welcoming me into the fold. At least, they are to begin with… Until someone begins anonymously exposing secrets about everyone in the group.

As betrayals surface and the claws come out, I see how imperfect these people really are; and how far they’ll go to hide the truth. Then when one of the parents ends up dead at the end of a party, I realise that it’s not just lies and scandal they’re covering up.

Too late, I realise that I should have stayed away…

A completely addictive page-turner about the secrets and lies hiding beneath the image of a perfect family. Fans of Big Little Lies, Lisa Jewell and Louise Candlish will be absolutely hooked by this pacey read with a jaw-dropping twist you just won’t see coming.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s