Uncharted Waters by Tammy L. Grace ~ 5⭐

Genre: Contemporary Women’s & Travel Fiction ~ Release Date: February 8, 2023

REVIEW: Uncharted Waters is book three in the Sail Away series and this one is by Tammy L. Grace who happens to be on my favorite author list. I love her books and this one is no exception. This book has her trademark dogs and such wonderful characters. I always want to be friends with them including the dogs. I have that love of dogs in common with Tammy. If you don’t already, follow Tammy on Facebook and you will meet Izzy her Golden Retriever who does a guest appearance every week called Pupdate. It’s really cute.

Jessica Clark is a newly retired school teacher who is about to embark on a cruise. On the cruise she meets Dean Nash. Most of the story revolves around these two characters. Dean is a wounded veteran and has a service dog. I really enjoyed the budding friendship between Dean and Jessica. They take things slow and become really good friends by the end of the cruise. These two and their dogs really stole my heart. I didn’t want the book to end but, it did. Sadly.

Happily, their story will continue in a new book coming out by Tammy on March 6th called Follow Me Home. It will be book seven of another series she is writing called Hometown Harbor. I can’t wait to read that book and you may want to keep your eye out for my review because I will be reviewing it here before it hits the shelves giving you a chance to pre-order it. I guarantee if you read Uncharted Waters, you will want to read Follow Me Home. 

I really love any book I have read that has been written by Tammy L. Grace. She writes such lovely characters, wonderful settings in towns I would want to live in and I always feel better when I get done reading one of her books. It makes me have hope that this world will experience the kind of people and places that she writes about. I come from a small town and I kind of feel like I am going back home.

I do encourage you to read the Sail Away series. Welcome Aboard is the first book in the series and it is a FREE download. It contains the first chapters of all the books so you can have an idea of what you are going to be reading. These books do not tie together at all except they all have to do with a cruise. The characters, situations and destinations are all a bit different. What are you waiting for? Welcome Aboard is free and the second book comes out February 1st. They will be released weekly with Uncharted Waters coming out on the 8th. Go get your FREE download of Welcome Aboard now! Until next time…Happy Reading!

Don’t forget to support the authors you read by leaving a review!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: Set sail to new adventures and escapes with eight best-selling authors in the exciting Sail Away series!

Jessica Clark is still grieving the loss of her mother when she retires from her teaching position. To honor her long career, her coworkers present her with the gift of an Alaskan cruise. The last thing she wants is to leave her dog behind and take a solo trip. Unable to bear the thought of hurting anyone’s feelings, she reluctantly sets out on a seven-day adventure aboard the Majestic Star.

A sleepless first night spent wondering why she ever came on the trip leads Jessica to the Sky Deck where under the star-filled sky, she meets a beautiful service dog, Rebel, who leads her to his person who needs help.

Dean Nash is a wounded veteran on a trip with his support group and bonds with Jessica over their shared love of dogs, familial woes, and their aversion to cruising. As the voyage progresses, the two of them spend more time together exploring the area and the ship.

Jessica and Dean have been on their own for a long time and find their sudden feelings have them traversing uncharted waters. Will the beauty of the dramatic landscape, endless skies and a furry friend be enough to bring these two bruised souls together and show them there is always a second chance at a new beginning?

Join USA Today bestselling author, Tammy L. Grace as she brings the latest book in The Sail Away series to life, featuring a heart-warming story of love and loss, and the hope that comes from a chance at a new beginning.

Don’t miss a Sail Away book!
Book 1: Welcome Aboard – prologue book
Book 2: The Sound of the Sea by Jessie Newton
Book 3: Uncharted Waters by Tammy L. Grace
Book 4: A Not So Distant Shore by Ev Bishop
Book 5: Caroline, Adrift by Kay Bratt
Book 6: Moonlight On the Lido Deck by Violet Howe
Book 7: The Winning Tickets by Judith Keim
Book 8: Lost At Sea by Patricia Sands
Book 9: The Last Port of Call by Elizabeth Bromke

The Sound of the Sea by Jessie Newton ~ 5⭐

Genre: Family Life Fiction ~ Release Date: February 1, 2023

REVIEW: Ok! The fun is about to begin. On December 23, I posted about a new series that would be arriving in the new year. The first book is Welcome Aboard. It is a FREE download and has the first chapter of all the books in the series to give you an idea of what they are all about. Each book is a stand alone and does not tie in with the others in any way except they all have something to do with a cruise. How fun is that?! Welcome Aboard was released on January 1, 2023. If you haven’t downloaded your FREE copy, go do it now so you can pre-order the ones you want to read or just pre-order all of them and they will be in your library on release day. They are all novellas and will be released one week apart. 

The Second book is The Sound of the Sea by Jessie Newton. This was a such an engaging book. I was hooked from page one and it didn’t take me long to read it. I seem to start a lot of books when I go to bed which is what happened with this one and then I finished it the next day. Jennifer is the main character and is having relationship problems with her adult children. When her daughter is called away and can’t make a lunch date, Jenn decides to book an over 60 singles cruise at Christmas time. I really liked how she comes to terms with her life and the decisions she made along the way to make her existence something she could live with. 

Jessie Newton has a series she is writing called the Five Island Cove series. There are currently eight books in the series with number nine slated to release in August. This one is also part of that series. I’m not sure how it fits in. My guess? Eight and a half. I haven’t read the series but, I loved this book so much, I was inspired to grab the first three in the series and another one that is on sale. You might find yourself doing the same thing once you read this book. The series will take you back to the beginning of these characters. I love how this is working out! So many books, so little time…

If you love travel, older romance and you love these series written by different authors, this is the next one you should start! I love the first one is free. I love they only tie together with a theme. I love romance with older characters. I love to travel. I loved the one cruise I’ve taken. I love to read and live through the characters. So, If you are like me, Welcome Aboard! Until next time…Happy Reading.

SYNOPSIS: Set sail to new adventures and escapes with eight best-selling authors in the exciting new Sail Away series!

Single and over sixty…

Those are the only boxes Jennifer Golden needs to check to be eligible for a ticket on the Silver Sails cruise line. She’s taken a few solo trips with women her age, and she knows how to pack what she needs for a 2-week vacation in a single carry-on.

She’s never done a cruise quite this long or quite this nice, but with her daughter now moved out of the house she’s been renting from Jennifer for a decade, a son who’s stopped talking to her, and the man she’s been dating now out of the picture, Jennifer needs a break from real life.

She flies across the country only to board a ship to sail back toward Five Island Cove. Robin doesn’t understand what she’s doing, but Jennifer has never gotten along all that well with her daughter. Maybe she was too controlling when Robin was a teenager. Maybe she treated her worse than her other children. She doesn’t know, but she knows she needs to find a way to repair the relationship with her only child still in the cove.

She doesn’t expect to see Blanche Gibb on the ship, and she’s shocked her college roommate and friend is even on a singles cruise. She discovers Blanche is healing after the sudden death of her husband, and she’s come on the trip with her brother, Mitchell.

Jennifer has met Mitchell before, but this time, there’s sparks flying between the two of them, adding to the magic of the Panama sunshine, lapping waves, and endless drinks above the deck of Sweet Sea Dreams.

She feels like she’s fallen into a dream, but she still has familial relationships to repair, a friendship to nurture with Blanche, and a heart to heal before it can learn to love again…all before the ship hits land again.

Join USA Today Bestselling and Top 50 Kindle Unlimited All-Star Author Jessie Newton as she weaves another tale of friendship, romance, sisterhood, and the power of female relationships in all their forms.

★ Don’t miss a Sail Away book! ★
Book 1: Welcome Aboard – prologue book
Book 2: The Sound of the Sea by Jessie Newton
Book 3: Uncharted Waters by Tammy L. Grace
Book 4: A Not So Distant Shore by Ev Bishop
Book 5: Caroline, Adrift by Kay Bratt
Book 6: Moonlight On the Lido Deck by Violet Howe
Book 7: The Winning Tickets by Judith Keim
Book 8: Lost At Sea by Patricia Sands
Book 9: The Last Port of Call by Elizabeth Bromke

The Family Secret by Kiersten Modglin ~ 5⭐

Genre: Psychological Fiction ~ Release Date: January 31, 2023

REVIEW: I’ve have a great recommendation for you and it will be available on January 31, 2023! It is The Family Secret by Kiersten Modglin. It will be her fitst release for this year and it’s a stand alone. You simply have to make time in your busy schedule to read this one. It is a story that will reel you in hook, line and sinker. You will want to find a time when you don’t have anything else of importance to do. For example, you may want to clear your entire schedule for Tuesday the 31st. Take a day off of work, order food in and possibly make a thermos of your favorite hot drink to keep right by your chair. Send the hubby to work and the kids to school and get to reading. You might just want to silence your phone too!

This is my new favorite by Kiersten. I have a feeling this book was not written for the twists and turns that seem to happen naturally. I felt it was more written for the family drama and the background of the family. I was so immersed in the story, the family ties and all that was going on. The twists seemed more natural for what was coming. Don’t take me the wrong way. They were still a surprise but, they fit in so well, you didn’t question what you were reading and how that could have happened. The end of this book was to die for. 

The family loyalty was so strong in all of these characters. In some I felt like it drove them to insanity and others it was healthy and yet in others it made them want to be different although the ties were still there. This is a bit of a hard book to talk about without giving examples and giving spoilers away. I will not do that to you because I want you to enjoy the book as much as I did. I love romance, huge homes, monied families and all that comes with them. The power and entitlement, maids, butlers, cooks and drivers.

If you love Kiersten Modglin, you will like this book too and are already planning on reading it. If you haven’t read anything by her, this is a good place to jump right in. I will say this is a little different than anything she has written before and I love it. It is about as different as her last book A Quiet Retreat. I love I am seeing her develop in new and different ways. I love these books fall under the same general catagory but, they add in different genres. Until next time…Happy Reading.

Don’t forget to support the authors you read by leaving a review!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: A completely addictive domestic thriller from bestselling author Kiersten Modglin.

Their new home has a terrifying secret…

When freshly engaged Austyn Murphy and Lowell Bass receive the news that Lowell’s parents have died unexpectedly, they set out for the historic Bass estate to handle their affairs and lay the former heads of the family to rest.

Enshrouded in layers of secrecy and tradition, the Bass estate, and the family residing within its walls, give anything but a warm welcome. When the idea of staying in the home permanently is brought up, Austyn witnesses a side of her future husband she’s never seen before.

Late one night, Austyn overhears a whispered conversation, revealing she hasn’t been given the full truth about the world she’s marrying into. And when Emily, an old friend, calls with devastating news of her own, Lowell and Austyn invite her to join them for a visit at the estate.

Upon Emily’s arrival, a confession is made, causing a rift in the seemingly impenetrable bond the girls once had. As Emily settles into their home, becoming closer to Lowell than ever before, Austyn fears she’s made a grave mistake.

Trapped inside the Bass estate under the ever-watchful eye of the staff and her soon-to-be family, Austyn makes another chilling discovery—something so terrible it changes everything.

With distressing revelations hidden around every corner and time running out before final decisions are made about her future, Austyn must uncover the truth about the opulent and powerful Bass family…at the risk of becoming another one of their dark secrets.

The House Guest by Hank Phillippi Ryan ~ 5⭐

Genres: Women’s Psychological & Domestic Thriller ~ Release Date: February 7, 2023

REVIEW: Holy Cow! I finally understand why everyone loves Hank Phillippi Ryan. I saw that she had an opening on her review team and I applied. I was totally shocked that I was accepted. It’s a good thing they didn’t ask me how many of her books I have read. The House Guest which is the newest book coming out was my first book by her. I LOVED IT!!!!!! I do own some of her other books but, I haven’t had the chance to read them. I feel so honored and blessed to be on her team. This book blew me away. I had the hardest time putting it down and going to sleep last night but, with furbabies who get me up to feed them, I had to get my beauty rest. lol

Hank wrote many little twists and turns into this book and then one really huge one at the end. She held me captive in my chair and it’s a darn good thing that I have a really comfy chair. This author wrote a book with characters that are so devious and slick. Wow! It is taking me a hot minute to put it all into place. You have FBI that are not truly FBI and then you have FBI that are posing as friends and criminals. It really just takes a minute to let it all gel in your mind. Those characters were belivable no matter what part they were playing and when. 

The main character is Alyssa. Only because her husband who is rich thought her name Alice was too plain for any wife of his. His name is Bill and he raises money for charities. He is paid for his time and it seems like he is paid quite well. Of course, he has inheritances from family money as well. I did not like Bill but, Alyssa was always the loving and faithful wife. Bill hurts her when he walks out on her and ruins her reputation with their circle of friends. She is left alone to deal with him leaving and trying to pick up the pieces of her life.

I love a book that keeps me on my toes and guessing the whole way through. Hank Phillippi Ryan crafted a novel that did just that. If you are like me, you really need to pick up a copy and start reading! I have found another addition for my long list of favorite authors. She is killer! Until next time…Happy Reading!

Don’t forget to support the authors you read by leaving a review.

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you!

Picking Up the Pieces by Amanda Prowse ~ 5⭐

Genre: Literary Fiction ~ Release Date: January 10, 2023

REVIEW: Amanda Prowse never disappoints me. Picking Up the Pieces was another book that delivered. I found the book a little slow to get into. Once I did, I couldn’t put it down. I read the majority of the book yesterday and before that it took me about three days to get thirty percent into the story. It had a bit of a double timeline and it kind of made me drag my feet. I certainly see the reason for the other timeline and we really needed it for the background of the story. It played a part in the ending which I totally loved.

Nora is the older sister and becomes the legal guardian of her sister Kiki’s son Ted. Nora has never had children and decided not to ever be a mother after the way she was raised. She goes into the situation taking care of Ted completely unprepared. She is also dealing with a move and the demise of her marriage. Nora is married to a military man and has moved a lot in her time with him and has never had a stable life. Ted brings a lot of change into her life. She learns from him that she is capable and lovable and deserving of that love. She learns to open up to her sister’s friends that are there to help her out. The little community rallies around Nora and Ted. I love the eclectic characters that are part of Ted’s life.

The setting of the story is in Cypress to start and then moves to the UK. I really enjoy books that take place in areas other than the United States. I learn a little about the country and I often get the urge to do some research on my own. I have some English and Scottish in my DNA and have really taken an interest in books set in these areas. Have you had the same thing happen to you?

If you love family stories that deal with some pretty hard subjects, I highly recommend this book to you. I enjoyed learning about some of the subjects this book dealt with. Although I had some knowledge of some of the subjects, this book gave me little details that I wasn’t totally aware of or at least brought them to the front of my mind. If you are already a fan of Amanda Prowse, you definitely want to read this book. If not, give this one a try. I think you will like it. Until next time…Happy Reading!

Dont forget to support the authors you read by leaving a review.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author, #Netgalley and #LakeUnionPublishing. Thank you! Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: In this heart-warming story from million copy bestselling author Amanda Prowse, Nora has given up on finding happiness. But has it been waiting for her all along?

As Nora and her British Army officer husband, Gordy, pack up yet another home and leave the sun of Cyprus for the drizzle of England, she can’t shake a feeling of regret—at her failure to follow her own dreams, but also, if she’s honest, at having ended up an officer’s wife at all, drifting through a life of temporary homes and temporary relationships.

Since losing her parents at a young age, Nora’s life has been lacking an anchor: someone or something to make her feel secure. Her marriage has been her only permanent relationship, and just as even that appears to be fizzling out, a tragedy forces Nora into the role of legal guardian to her seven-year-old nephew, Ted. Faced suddenly with a responsibility she never dreamed of, how can Nora possibly offer the boy the kind of unconditional love he deserves, when she’s never experienced it for herself?

But as she navigates the precarious and unfamiliar world of parenthood, Nora begins to see herself through Ted’s eyes, as someone worthy of love and even joy. When she’s welcomed into the previously intimidating huddle of mums at the school gate, she has to wonder: is it too late to smash down the other barriers she’s built—and to have a second chance at a happy marriage with Gordy?

Hart’s Ridge by Kay Bratt ~ 5⭐

Genre: Women’s Sleuths ~ Release Date: January 10, 2023

REVIEW: I’m so excited y’all! A new series is coming our way. First, I have to tell you this is the first full length novel I’ve read by Kay Bratt. I’ve really enjoyed the novellas I read of hers in the other series I’m reading by serveral authors and really wanted to try one of her own creations. This book was so good! 

I loved that Hart’s Ridge is a small town in the Blue Ridge Mountains. That in itself is a big pull for me. I love small towns and I have a special place in my heart for the Blue Ridge Mountains. I was very happy to spend some time there and get to know Taylor Gray who is a Sheriff’s Deputy in Hart’s Ridge. 

The book is about a 5 year old girl named Molly who wanders into a gas station on the edge of town. Molly is not speaking very much and Taylor desperately wants to reunite her with her mother. I got so involved with Taylor solving this case and don’t you know an old high school friend who is a detective is called to town to take over the case? There is so much going on and Taylor has a dog named Bernard. What more could you ask for?

I want to share all the details with you but, that would take away the fun of reading this book. I think Kay Bratt just wormed her way into my heart and onto my favorite author list. Mind you that list has grown quite long since I’ve started reviewing books. There are so many good authors out there that are not blockbuster best sellers. They are best sellers in their own way. Many self-publish and I challenge you to pick up some of these books and see if you don’t agree with me.

I highly recommend this book. You will love Taylor and you’ll dislike some of her co-workers. I think you will be as excited as I am that there are more cases to solve in Hart’s Ridge! I am so excited for the next book to come out. It is called Lucy in the Sky and is due out February 13th. You know what I will be doing for Valentine’s Day! Until next time…Happy Reading!

Don’t forget to support the authors you read by leaving a review!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: If Robyn Carr and Melinda Leigh had a book-baby, Hart’s Ridge would be it. Join Kay Bratt in this small town mystery series with cases to solve, and a small-town deputy determined to do it.

When five-year-old Molly walks into a gas station on the outskirts of town, alone and barely speaking, one sheriff’s deputy is determined to reunite her with her missing mother.

Nestled gently in the Blue Ridge mountains, Hart’s Ridge is a small and yet undiscovered quaint town. That is until you dig a little deeper and learn that no matter how perfect things look, every town has its secrets. Taylor Gray has lived there since she was a kid and has clawed her way out of poverty, foster care, and then the police academy to reach her dream of being in law enforcement.

However, the townspeople aren’t the only ones that she is committed to serve and protect. She’s also the unofficial caretaker of her father and adult sisters, a family fractured by tragedy and barely keeping it together. Her role is heavy and rarely appreciated, but she’ll stop at nothing to try to piece them back together one day.

The mother of a young girl is missing. Time is of the essence and Taylor plunges into the investigation, determined to find her and reunite mother and child. When the sheriff brings a familiar face in to take charge, things begin to unravel at a pace hard to keep up with, and what they find is every law enforcement officer’s worst nightmare.

Hart’s Ridge is a standalone novel and book one of the new Hart’s Ridge mystery series, written by Kay Bratt, International Best-Selling Author of Wish Me Home and True To Me.

Only One Lie by Audrey J. Cole ~ 5⭐

Genre: Historical Fiction ~ Release Date: December 27, 2022

REVIEW: I really enjoyed Only One Lie by Audrey J. Cole. In fact, most of her books have captivated my imagination while reading them making it impossible to put them down. This was the first Historical book by Ms. Cole and right at the top of my list for favorite genres. I was so excited to jump into this book. I finished it a bit ago but, with Christmas preparations, I’m a little behind right now. 

For the first try at Historical Fiction, I’m giving her a huge A+ for effort. I loved the story and the history of women in aviation that really got it’s start during the Second World War. Women had a big part of ferrying planes for the war effort. They also became instructors for future women pilots. I especially liked this part of the book and how the main character went about trying to acheiving her dream against her parents wishes. The hoops she had to jump through and the difficulty of it all. 

There was a kidnapping and a few murders, a cheating spouse and a love story and the power that money brings is all in this book. There is a lot going on and the characters will keep you interested. You want to know what they are up to. Some of them are pretty downright awful. The main character is Vera and I took a liking to her right away. My grandma was named Vera and I could very well see her in this role. She was a spitfire and was not afraid to be a pioneer in her line of business. 

If you are looking for a book that is not your typical book, this one is it. If you don’t read a lot of Historical Fiction, Only One Lie is a good way to get your feet wet. It is not heavy on the history. It is just lightly mixed in the batter. There was so much going on in Vera’s life and the she handled herself well. I highly recommend this book! Until next time…Happy Reading! 

Don’t forget to support the authors you read by leaving a review! 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: From the author of The Pilot’s Daughter and The Final Hunt comes a thrilling, suspense-driven mystery set in World War II-era Seattle.

Seattle, 1942. News of the war is interrupted by the kidnapping of young Max Ellis, heir to the wealthiest banking family on the west coast. When the boy’s parents comply with the ransom demands, the kidnapper is found dead and Max remains missing.

For newlywed Vera Chandler, the story hits close to home—her husband Hugh is just six months into his job as the Ellis’s private pilot. Within days, Hugh is deployed to the Pacific as a navy pilot, while Vera’s flying instructor and best friend joins the Women’s Auxiliary Ferrying Squadron. Left alone, her parents’ words haunt her: If you really wanted to serve your country, you wouldn’t have dropped out of nursing school.

In an exchange for a favor Vera can’t refuse, she is pulled into the Ellis family affairs by the desperate mother of the missing child. The Ellis family, Vera learns firsthand, is as dangerous as they are rich. Soon, she is in a race to save the child’s life, and it could be the only way she can save her own.

Love and War by Ashley Farley ~ 5⭐

Genre: Family Life Fiction ~ Release Date: December 27, 2022

REVIEW: Love and War is the fourth book in the Virginia Vineyards Series by Ashley Farley. I believe this is the last one in this series. We’ll have to wait to see what Ms. Farley brings us for our enjoyment next. I’m not sure if there will be another spin off of this series or if we are going to get another delicious series to immerse ourselves in. Whatever it is, I am sure it will be good. I haven’t read anything of hers that I didn’t like.

Love and War was actually Love and War. Someone receives a proposal but, with it comes a move at an inopertune time. Someone, finds out her husband is not who he said he was. War comes in when Daniel, the Patriarch of the family, decides to retire and starts a competition for head of his empire. Who is so ruthless to pit his own children against each other?

The characters are the ones I’ve learned to care for and who I have enjoyed following in this series. It is always hard to say goodbye to the characters we have come to know and love. Some of them I don’t love so much. I won’t miss them. This book was a good ending to the series. It had it all. I can’t tell you everything because I don’t want to give away any spoilers. I had a hard time putting this book down. It was a page turner.

If you haven’t read this series, I would encourage you to pick up all four books and get ready to enjoy yourself. Especially if you received some Christmas money or a gift card that is burning a hole in your pocket! Until next time…Happy Reading.

Don’t forget to support the authors you read by leaving a review!

I received a copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: Casey’s hopes are high for a marriage proposal. Luke hints one is coming soon, but he has different plans for their future together. When he finally pops the question, Casey must choose between Luke and her new family and dream career.

The trouble in Hazel’s marriage is not what she thinks. Not even a baby can fix this problem. When the discovery of her husband’s dirty little secret leaves her hurt and confused, she makes a devastating choice that could haunt her for life.

Daniel, who will soon retire as head of the family’s vineyard, sets in motion a campaign to determine his successor. War breaks out between the Love siblings as they vie for the position. But there’s more at stake than the vineyard’s future. Lives are threatened, romances are doomed, and family ties are severed in this dramatic series conclusion.

Christmas Longings by Ev Bishop ~ 5⭐

Genre: Holiday Fiction ~ Release Date: December 24, 2022

REVIEW: Christmas Longings by Ev Bishop is book 15 in the Soul Sisters at Cedar Mountain Lodge series. You must know by now that I love this series and all of these books have been winners in my estimation. I bought the final books I needed to get caught up with this series. They were already out so, I will be posting my reviews of them shortly. I’m so excited to say I have read all of the books. I hope the series continues. I have grown to know and love so many of the characters and I know it will be hard to say goodbye.

WOW! Ev Bishop knocked it out of the park with this one. It is so good in so many ways. 

The main characters were new.  The ones we have already met were in the background or made cameo appearances except for one. Nell McMurphy is the main character and she meets a man named Owen. Special circumstances brought them together and he has a pretty wonderful family except for one daughter who thinks Nell might be a gold digger. We get to know Stevie’s birth mother a little more and what she has been through. If you remember, her name is Marilyn and she is married to one of Owen’s sons.

I want to tell you all of the details of this book but, I can’t give away all of the fun. I really enjoyed this installment. It is full of Christmas activities at Cedar Mountain Lodge, new and old loves, memories of days gone by and it is just a very special story. These books aren’t long and they are perfect to fill a quiet evening snuggled in your favorite reading chair. I highly recommend them. Unitl next time…Happy Reading!

Don’t forget to support the authors you read by leaving a review!

I received a copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: Random circumstances brought them together. Love made them family.

Christmas has been a hard time of year for 73-year-old Nell McMurphy since her daughter Katie passed away, but now that she’s a widow, retired, and has lost her beloved old dog? It’s excruciating. She wants to be strong, to find some way to carry on and to do something with meaning while she still has time left, but she is just so tired, so very, very tired.

Needing to flee memories, she books a stay at Cedar Mountain Lodge, a beautiful remote ski resort, where she plans to hide away from the holidays. Before she retreats, however, she’s determined to go through with her personal annual memorial for Katie, part of which involves handing out her daughter’s favorite treats to homeless people. While doing so, Nell runs into a man named Owen, who is far too interested in her well-being for her liking, and a woman named Marilyn, who runs an art therapy class and whose family runs a local soup kitchen. Nell enjoys the encounter, but it underscores her deep loneliness.

Arriving at Cedar Mountain Lodge, she is shocked when chance throws her, Owen, Marilyn, and family together again. As she spends more time with Marilyn and her daughter Stevie, her longing for family and connection intensifies. And as she gets to know Owen, she is appalled by the desires he kindles.

It might be better to have loved and lost than to never to have loved at all . . . but Nell can’t handle any more loss, so where does that leave her?

If you’re a fan of heartwarming second-chance holiday romances with later-in-life heroes and heroines, along with a few furry friends, you’ll love this volume of the Soul Sisters at Cedar Mountain Lodge series!

✓ Don’t miss a Soul Sisters book – download them all today!

Book 1: Christmas Sisters – perma-FREE prologue book
Book 2: Christmas Kisses by Judith Keim
Book 3: Christmas Wishes by Tammy L. Grace
Book 4: Christmas Hope by Violet Howe
Book 5: Christmas Dreams by Ev Bishop
Book 6: Christmas Rings by Tess Thompson
Book 7: Christmas Surprises by Tammy L. Grace
Book 8: Christmas Yearnings by Ev Bishop
Book 9: Christmas Peace by Violet Howe
Book 10: Christmas Castles by Judith Keim
Book 11: Christmas Star by Tess Thompson
Book 12: Christmas Joy by Judith Keim
Book 13: Christmas Shelter by Tammy L. Grace
Book 14: Christmas Secret by Violet Howe
Book 15: Christmas Longings by Ev Bishop

Welcome Aboard by Various Authors ~ 5⭐

Genre: Contemporary Women’s Fiction ~ Release Date: January 1, 2023

REVIEW: Are you tired of Winter and ready to put Christmas away? Well, hang on to your hats! There is a new series getting ready to set sail. It is the exciting new Sail Away Series. The first book is called Welcome Aboard and it is the first chapters of all the books to give you a taste of what is coming. I just finished it and I can’t wait for the rest of the books to be rolled out. The books will all be stand alones and the only thing tying them together is they all take place on a cruise ship. How fun is that?

There are several of them that caught my attention right away. I can’t wait to read all of them and see all the exotic places we will travel to with all of these characters. I know there are some of them that will definitely grab your attention. The circumstances of each character and why she decided to go on a cruise by herself is interesting and something all of us may have experienced at some time in our lives. That is why I think there is something for everyone in this new series. 

I have really enjoyed the series I have been reading that are written by multiple authors. Not only do you get to sample some new authors you may not have read before, you may also get to read some of your favorites. I call that a win win situation. How about you?

The first book Welcome Aboard releases January 1, 2023. That is about the time we will have or are thinking of taking down the Christmas decorations and we will need a little pick me up. I think a cruise might do the trick! The Sound of the Sea sets sail on February 1st and it looks to me like the books release weekly. So, get Christmas packed up soon and get ready to sail. Until next time…Happy Reading!

I received a copy of this book from the authors. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

Don’t forget to support the authors you love by leaving a review! 

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: Set sail to new adventures and escapes with eight best-selling authors in the exciting new Sail Away series!

Pack your bags and get ready to set sail on a variety of cruise ships…all without leaving home! Experience the waves, the wind, and the call of the birds in the Sail Away series with a sneak peek of the Sail Away Series in this prologue novella. Each bestselling author will take you on a sea adventure filled with friendship, healing, some romance, and all the heartfelt storytelling you crave.

Don’t miss a Sail Away book!
Book 1: Welcome Aboard – prologue book
Book 2: The Sound of the Sea by Jessie Newton
Book 3: Uncharted Waters by Tammy L. Grace
Book 4: A Not So Distant Shore by Ev Bishop
Book 5: Caroline, Adrift by Kay Bratt
Book 6: Moonlight On the Lido Deck by Violet Howe
Book 7: The Winning Tickets by Judith Keim
Book 8: Lost At Sea by Patricia Sands
Book 9: The Last Port of Call by Elizabeth Bromke