Change of Tides by Ashley Farley ~ 5⭐

Genre: Family Life Fiction ~ Releases: February 9, 2021

REVIEW: Be still my heart! Ashley Farley is coming out with a new series called Palmetto Island and it is fabulous. The first book is a Novella called Muddy Bottom and the ebook is currently free at most retailers. On February 9th book one Change of Tides will be released. I’ve been privileged to read both of them. Can I tell you I’m already excited for the next book? You need to go download Muddy Bottom right now and find out what the excitement is all about. 

This author has a way of writing stories and creating characters that draw me in from page one. It doesn’t take me 50 pages or a few chapters to become invested in the story and fall in love with her characters. I haven’t read anything by Ashley Farley that I didn’t like. She is one author that I don’t have to read the synopsis. I know instantly I’m gonna like the book. She is that great! 

If your looking for a series or just a book that will give you all the feels, one that will take your mind off politics and the pandemic, try Muddy Bottom. Then preorder Change of Tides. I’m sure you won’t be sorry. Let me know what you think. 

SYNOPSIS: A new southern series by bestselling author Ashley Farley.

Birdie Fuller doesn’t like change. And a lot of change is happening at once. Her daughter and three-year-old grandson are moving out of her apartment to a nearby city. Will Birdie be able to survive the loneliness without Hannah and Gus? She joins a dating website to find companionship and meets the seemingly perfect man. But is their relationship too good to be real? When the past comes back to haunt Birdie, she struggles to maintain the sobriety she’s worked so hard to achieve?

While the beauty and wildlife of Palmetto Island provide inspiration for Hannah’s creativity, she realizes that in order to grow her web design business, she must move to a bigger city. But is she ready to leave the security of her mother’s apartment? For three years, she’s been hiding out on the island, avoiding contact with her son’s biological father. She never told Ryan about the pregnancy. He doesn’t know about Gus. When Ryan shows up at Birdie’s cafe out of the blue, Hannah’s world comes crashing down around her. Will she give Ryan another chance? Or will another man steal her heart?

Escape to the Lowcountry for the first installment in the Palmetto Island series. Be sure to download Muddy Bottom, the series’s novella prequel, for free.

Lethal Intent by Cara Putnam ~ 4⭐

Genre: Medical Thriller ~ Released: January 12, 2021

REVIEW: Ahhhh what a satisfying book. Lethal Intent by Cara Putnam was so good. It had it all. 

If you know me at all, you know I love anything medical. This book certainly satisfied that for me. Caroline is legal counsel for a company that is developing genetic therapies. Right up my alley. 

Her love interest is Brandon. Yup. I love a good love story. Don’t you? 

Murder. Oh yeah! Not one but three! Who did it? You have to read the book to find out. 

Do you love legal thrillers? I do! 

There was so much to like about this book. If you like any one thing I mentioned, you will like this book. Her writing is easy to follow even when there is a lot going on. It wasn’t confusing. You need to try Cara Putnam. 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for a fair and honest review.

SYNOPSIS: If they expected silence, they hired the wrong woman. 

Caroline Bragg’s life has never been better. She and Brandon Lancaster are taking their relationship to the next level, and she has a new dream job as legal counsel for Praecursoria—a research lab that is making waves with its cutting-edge genetic therapies. The company’s leukemia treatments even promise to save desperately sick kids—kids like eleven-year-old Bethany, a critically ill foster child at Brandon’s foster home. 

When Caroline’s enthusiastic boss wants to enroll Bethany in experimental trials prematurely, Caroline objects, putting her at odds with her colleagues. They claim the only goal at Praecursoria is to save lives. But does someone have another agenda? 

Brandon faces his own crisis. As laws governing foster homes shift, he’s on the brink of losing the group home he’s worked so hard to build. When Caroline learns he’s a Praecursoria investor, it becomes legally impossible to confide in him. Will the secrets she keeps become a wedge that separates them forever? And can she save Bethany from the very treatments designed to heal her? 

This latest romantic legal thriller by bestseller Cara Putman shines a light on the shadowy world of scientific secrets and corporate vendettas—and the ethical dilemmas that plague the place where science and commerce meet.

What’s Worth Keeping by Kaya McLaren ~5⭐

Genre: Women’s Family Fiction ~ Releases: January 19, 2021

REVIEW: Heart-wrenching. What’s Worth Keeping by Kaya McLaren was the story of a woman diagnosed with cancer and the toll it took not only on her but, also her family. 

Most often when I read about a disease it is told from the viewpoint of one character. This book is unique in that it is told not only from Amy’s point of view. We also hear about the heartbreak from her husband and her daughter. 

The story hooked me from the beginning and maintained my interest right to the very last page. I had a vested interest in the family and wanted to know if they survived and thrived. They each handle things in their own way. Each scenario was different and interesting. 

If you love family drama, medical stories and learning new things, I urge you to pick up a copy of this book when it comes out. There is something in this story for everyone. 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher for a fair and honest review. Thank you for the opportunity! 

SYNOPSIS: In Kaya McLaren’s What’s Worth Keeping, during one unforgettable summer, three generations of one family receive the best gift of all time: a second chance…

The day her doctor says the one word that no one wants to hear, Amy Bergstrom discovers a secret that her husband of 25 years has been keeping from her. Now that the months of treatment and surgeries are behind her, she escapes her claustrophobic life seeking healing, peace and clarity in an ancient forest in Washington State, a forest that holds memories of her childhood summers.

After dropping off his daughter at Amy’s Aunt Rae’s horse ranch in the mountains of New Mexico, Officer Paul Bergstrom visits the fixer-upper he had bought years ago as a place to retire with his family. Although it appears fine on the outside, the inside is a disaster―just like his marriage. When he finds himself with more off-duty time than he expected, he lovingly repairs his dream home, building the future he so desperately wants.

Witnessing her mother’s health crisis had been terrifying enough, but learning the cause was genetic leaves Carly with the sense that all of her dreams are pointless. With the help of her eccentric great aunt and a Clydesdale named T. Rex, Carly just may find her faith in her future again.

Amy, Paul, and Carly discover that love and family are worth keeping in this powerful, emotional, and hopeful novel.

Moonlight Beach by Tammy L Grace ~ 5⭐

Genre: Family Life Fiction ~ Releases: February 4, 2021

REVIEW: FABULOUS! I’m totally and completely in LOVE! Moonlight Beach by Tammy L Grace is a book of many facets. I loved the characters including Fritz, Bodie and Sherlock the three Golden Retrievers. If you’ve read any of Tammy’s books, you know her characters are easy to fall in love with. Even the human ones like Lily, Mac and Mel.

This book is heavy on family relationships and all that they are. The ones you are born with and the ones that join you along life’s journey. Both are equally important and are needed in their own special way. I thank Tammy for reminding us of that.

Part of the book takes place at Christmas time although it is not specifically a Christmas story. I am blessed to have been able to read it at the holiday.

I was also reminded that a big part of life is to be of service to others. Giving of ourselves. Not money but, time, our hearts and caring for those that need our love and help. We can all find time in our lives to be an ear for someone, a shoulder to lean on or someone to pray for them. Sometimes, just knowing someone cares goes a long way. 

This is the second book in the Beach Glass Cottage Series. Beach Haven was book one and book three is coming in late 2021 or early 2022. Moonlight Beach read well as a stand alone but, I’m definitely picking up Beach Haven and look forward to book three. I’m so in love with the characters and I want more of them. My advice to you… get these books read before book three comes out. I know you will love them a much as I do! 

SYNOPSIS: Hope, healing, and happiness live here

A grieving widow tries to find a new path forward. A young woman goes missing and a surprise visitor has nowhere to turn. Is a walk along the moonlit beach offering happiness or more loss?

Lily is still making her way in her new career as an inn keeper in Driftwood Bay and training a hearing assistant dog. Along with those challenges, the young woman she agreed to take in is missing. Lily is positive she didn’t run away, and fears the worst.

As she struggles with the emotions stirred up by old losses, she and Mac, the veterinarian she’s been spending time with, decide to take a trip together to the San Juan Islands. She worries about the ramifications of her decision, but her final guests of the season, a group of five widows from Vermont, provide Lily some much needed motherly advice.

The holidays are especially hard, but her son will be coming to stay with her on his break from college and Lily is looking forward to a relaxing break with him, until unexpected family drama arrives at her doorstep.

Will Lily be able to put the broken pieces of her life back together and risk the future a walk along the moonlit beach might promise?

Missing Peace by N.K. Holt ~ 5⭐

Genres: Family Saga/Inspirational Suspense ~ Released June 13, 2020

REVIEW: Captivating! Missing Peace by N.K Holt was one of those books that latched onto me from page one. If, I wasn’t reading the book, I was thinking of it and looking forward to being able to sit down and read some more. It was one of the best books I’ve read this year. Yes, it really was!

The picture on the front cover kind of threw me off. I had read the synopsis but, the picture made me think the story was mainly in the battlefield. I can honestly say I was a little hesitant. The minute I opened the book I fell in love with an Iowa farming family. It was a hard fall! I cried my eyes out so many times during this book. I sniffed, wiped my eyes and kept on reading. This book compelled me to read it’s story! 

This is N.K.Holt’s first self published book. I can say without a doubt, I will be on the lookout for more by her. Her writing flows with such ease that you forget you’re reading and not watching a movie. I could see it all in my head and she is not overly descriptive. I don’t know how she did it. 

If you love family sagas, inspirational suspense, you will most likely love this book. I suggest you buy yourself a copy to enjoy! 

I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: War. Heartbreak. How much can one family lose?

The McKay family’s idyllic life in Iowa is about to implode. A mysterious rosary found by soldier John McKay in war-torn Iraq foreshadows an obscure prophecy. As the rosary’s mystique grows globally, his sister, Janey McKay, is threatened when a radical extremist group escalates the stakes by expanding their fight to the U.S. heartland. But can terror destroy a faith that launches miracles?

Everyone fights a battle…
A soldier.
A sister.
A priest.
A best friend.

No one is safe…
A fierce war.
A family shattered.
A love unrequited.
A terrorist bent on revenge.

How much can one woman lose?
Her home.
Her faith.
Her family.
The man she loves.

Kill For Justice by Judy Buch ~ 4⭐

Genre: Ameteur South Mystery ~ Released: February 1, 2019

REVIEW: I just finished Kill For Justice by Judy Buch. Do you know what I liked about this book? It was an old fashioned mystery. Just like the ones I used to love. It was a welcome shift from the books I’ve been reading. It was fun, entertaining and kept my interest with all it’s quirky characters. I was totally immersed.

We meet Simone first. She is a Ventriloquist who is in a small town in Maine doing three shows in exchange for one on one coaching from two artistic directors. Her father, Grit winds up joining her. They have a difficult relationship. Then there is a murder possibly connected to a murder that occurred 25 yrs before. Daughter and father work on the case behind the scenes. You can imagine the fun with all the theater people! 

If you are looking for something a little different and love mysteries, you might like this one. It is actually book two in Judy Buch’s Simone Biaz series. I haven’t read book one yet. It read well as a stand alone. I’m so intrigued, I want to go back and read book one! 

I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. 

SYNOPSIS: Someone has a dark secret and will use any means to keep it hidden.

Beneath the surface of an idyllic seacoast town in Maine lies buried a chilling history. The perfect setting for a riveting cozy suspense.

Simone Biaz, a ventriloquist known for putting words in people’s mouths and three other performing artists meet for a reunion. Their main purpose? Save the local theater. One day later, a fourth performer, a flamboyant magician makes a grand entrance, and shortly afterward is found dead between the boulders of the rocky coastline. The theater community is shaken. But why are the townspeople of Barnside Harbor suspiciously quiet?

When Simone’s father hears about the murder, he shows up unexpectedly and exacerbates an already strained relationship between himself and Simone. She and her father are thrust into solving a murder. But how will Simone, who can make anything talk, convince the locals to talk and tell the truth before she and her father become the next murder victims?
What started as a curious interest entangles Simone in a struggle for survival.

Kill for Justice is the second book in the Simone Biaz mystery series. If you like stories of loss, redemption, and hope, and twists that keep you reading, you’ll love this intriguing story.

Take It Back by Kia Abdullah ~ 4⭐

Genres: Legal & Domestic Thriller ~ Released: December 8, 2020

REVIEW:

Take It Back by Kia Abdullah was a book I never meant to read. I was looking at Netgalley and meant to click off the book and instead, I hit the Read It Now button. Ok. I tried to get out of it but the only thing I could do was mark it “Won’t Review”. I couldn’t make myself do that. I am a Reviewer after all. 

Actually, by the time I finished the book, I decided it was a decent book and maybe I was supposed to read after all. I not only was entertained but, I learned a little about the Muslim faith. In my area they seem to be a peaceful group. I was surprised at how strict and judgemental they are in their own families. 

I found this book a little depressing. It is about the rape of a disfigured young white woman by four Muslim young men. Her advocate had an addiction problem and her mom also had problems. The young men came from hard working families. I don’t think anyone came out of this story better than they went in. 

There was court drama, violence and some twists and turns along the way. The characters were believable and well thought out. If you like court drama and learning about other faiths then this book is for you. 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley for a fair and honest review. 

SYNOPSIS: Take It Back is a harrowing and twisting courtroom thriller that keeps you guessing until the last page is turned.

One victim.
Four accused.
Who is telling the truth?

Zara Kaleel, one of London’s brightest legal minds, shattered the expectations placed on her by her family and forged a brilliant legal career. But her decisions came at a high cost, and now, battling her own demons, she has exchanged her high profile career for a job at a sexual assault center, helping victims who need her the most. Victims like Jodie Wolfe.

When Jodie, a sixteen-year-old girl with facial deformities, accuses four boys in her class of an unthinkable crime, the community is torn apart. After all, these four teenage defendants are from hard-working immigrant families and they all have proven alibis. Even Jodie’s best friend doesn’t believe her.

But Zara does—and she is determined to fight for Jodie—to find the truth in the face of public outcry. And as issues of sex, race and social justice collide, the most explosive criminal trial of the year builds to a shocking conclusion.

My Name is Anton by Catherine Ryan Hyde ~ 5⭐

Genres: Coming of Age & Historical Fiction ~ Released Dec 1, 2020

REVIEW: My Name is Anton by Catherine Ryan Hyde gave me all the feels. I loved this book! I’ve read one other book by Ms Hyde and it has remained with me. When an author can write books that are this heartfelt it is not only their gift but it is also a gift to us. I’m so glad she shares her gift with us. 

This book deals with loss and second chances. Loss of life, loss of love, the chance to get the love back and what we do with those second chances. There are a lot of life lessons to learn and ponder. We all have them. Are we making the best choices? I sometimes wonder about that. 

I fell in love with Anton. I’m sure his wife wouldn’t be happy about that. I hope she understands. She understands a lot. These are two tender, loving and caring individuals. They have learned to draw the line in the sand when necessary. That is what I love about them. They set their boundaries and don’t apologize for it.

I appreciate a book that entertains and gives us something to think about long after we are finished reading. I hope you take a chance on this book. I think you will like it. 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley for a fair and honest review. Thank you! It was an experience. 

SYNOPSIS: New York Times bestselling author Catherine Ryan Hyde returns with a hopeful novel of sacrifice, two lost souls, and enduring love.

It’s 1965, and life has taken a turn for eighteen-year-old Anton Addison-Rice. Nearly a year after his brother died in a tragic accident, Anton is still wounded—physically and emotionally. Alone for the holidays, he catches a glimpse of his neighbor Edith across the street one evening and realizes that she’s in danger.

Anton is determined to help Edith leave her abusive marriage. Frightened and fifteen years Anton’s senior, Edith is slow to trust. But when she needs a safe place to stay, she lets down her guard, and over the course of ten days an unlikely friendship grows. As Anton falls hopelessly and selflessly in love, Edith fears both her husband finding her and Anton getting hurt. She must disappear without telling anyone where she’s going—even Anton.

If keeping Edith safe means letting her go, Anton will say goodbye forever. Or so he believes. What would happen, though, if one day their paths should cross again?

The Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell’Antonia ~ 4⭐

Genre: Women’s Fiction ~ Release date: December 1, 2020

REVIEW: Amusing! The Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell’Antonia was an amusing and heartwarming novel. If you need a book to get you out of a funk, this one may do the trick.

A television show was contacted to come in and decide who had the best chicken in town. There were two chicken restaurants started by sisters in the 1800’s and still run by feuding family members. It was funny and light about halfway through the book and things began to get serious. Most of the characters had to make some hard decisions about how their lives were going to proceed. 

The characters were uniquely individual. They were widely varied making it most interesting. If you love reality television, cooking and eating fried chicken and family dynamics, you’ll probably enjoy this book. It releases December 1, 2020 and you have plenty of time to pre-order so it will be on your library asap!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley for a fair and honest review.

SYNOPSIS: Three generations. Two chicken shacks. One recipe for disaster.

In tiny Merinac, Kansas, Chicken Mimi’s and Chicken Frannie’s have spent a century vying to serve up the best fried chicken in the state–and the legendary feud between their respective owners, the Moores and the Pogociellos, has lasted just as long. No one feels the impact more than thirty-five-year-old widow Amanda Moore, who grew up working for her mom at Mimi’s before scandalously marrying Frank Pogociello and changing sides to work at Frannie’s. Tired of being caught in the middle, Amanda sends an SOS to Food Wars, the reality TV restaurant competition that promises $100,000 to the winner. But in doing so, she launches both families out of the frying pan and directly into the fire. . .

The last thing Brooklyn-based organizational guru Mae Moore, Amanda’s sister, wants is to go home to Kansas. But when her career implodes, helping the fading Mimi’s look good on Food Wars becomes Mae’s best chance to reclaim the limelight–even if doing so pits her against Amanda and Frannie’s. Yet when family secrets become public knowledge, the sisters must choose: Will they fight with each other, or for their heritage?

The Lions of Fifth Avenue by Fiona Davis ~ 4⭐

Genre: Historical Fiction ~ Released: August 4, 2020

REVIEW: Very Interesting! The Lions of Fifth Avenue by Fiona Davis was an exceptionally interesting book. I expected a little more history since it was listed as “historical”. The author tells us at the end of the book that she took liberties with the security procedures and organizational policies of the New York Public Library. The family she writes about and the story itself is fiction. It remains an entertaining book. 

Her characters are varied, detailed and interesting. They all seem to have sides to them that are not expected and a little quirky. There were so many facets to this story and it took place in two different time periods 1913 and 1993. I can’t fault the book for the writing and fictional aspects. It was a intriguing story. It satisfied my thirst for suspense and mystery.

I bought this book from the New York Public Library when it came out with a signed bookplate, postcard and a tote bag. It will always be on my bookshelf as one of my prized books. I recommend this book.

SYNOPSIS: It’s 1913, and on the surface, Laura Lyons couldn’t ask for more out of life—her husband is the superintendent of the New York Public Library, allowing their family to live in an apartment within the grand building, and they are blessed with two children. But headstrong, passionate Laura wants more, and when she takes a leap of faith and applies to the Columbia Journalism School, her world is cracked wide open. As her studies take her all over the city, she is drawn to Greenwich Village’s new bohemia, where she discovers the Heterodoxy Club—a radical, all-female group in which women are encouraged to loudly share their opinions on suffrage, birth control, and women’s rights. Soon, Laura finds herself questioning her traditional role as wife and mother. But when valuable books are stolen back at the library, threatening the home and institution she loves, she’s forced to confront her shifting priorities head on . . . and may just lose everything in the process.

Eighty years later, in 1993, Sadie Donovan struggles with the legacy of her grandmother, the famous essayist Laura Lyons, especially after she’s wrangled her dream job as a curator at the New York Public Library. But the job quickly becomes a nightmare when rare manuscripts, notes, and books for the exhibit Sadie’s running begin disappearing from the library’s famous Berg Collection. Determined to save both the exhibit and her career, the typically risk-averse Sadie teams up with a private security expert to uncover the culprit. However, things unexpectedly become personal when the investigation leads Sadie to some unwelcome truths about her own family heritage—truths that shed new light on the biggest tragedy in the library’s history.