The Roommate by Kiersten Modglin ~ 5⭐

Genre: Domestic Suspense/Thriller ~ Releases: March 2, 2021

REVIEW: As you’ve probably figured out by now, Kiersten Modglin has quickly become my go to author for Thriller/Suspense novels. If you want to be scared, get your heart pounding and love sitting on the edge of your seat, you need to pick up any one of her books. I finished The Roommate last night and I can assure you it lives up to her reputation.

This book was a little different than the others I’ve read. It gave me a sense of impending doom from the beginning. The climax came at the end of the book. There were a few instances I felt the need to scream at Wes and shake his wife Addy. Then there was Elias. He was just creepy and I will never eat a Twizzler again without thinking of him. Trust me on this, you’re gonna have to read the book! Oh! Brody! Nevermind… read the book. 

I love all things Kiersten Modglin. She is prolific and you never have to wait long to get another fix. She never seems to write from a formula and all her books seem to be wildly different. She is a momma and a wife. Down to earth and lives for her books. She is awesome!  If you haven’t picked up one of her books yet, you better hurry up! What are you waiting for? 

I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: He thought his life couldn’t get any worse…

Wesley Gates is down on his luck. 

He’s drowning in debt.

His demanding career isn’t letting up. 

And, to top it all off, after years of ignoring their failing marriage, his wife has had enough.

Heartbroken and in desperate need of a place to stay while he gives his wife the space she’s asked for, Wes is shocked when he runs into a familiar face from his past. As they catch up, Wes quickly learns his old classmate has an extra room and a non-existent social life. He can’t help feeling grateful to spend time with someone who remembers who he was during their glory days, long before his life fell apart. So, when Elias offers to rent out his spare bedroom, it seems like the answer to all Wes’s problems. Wes takes his old friend up on the offer without hesitation. 

Living with someone you barely know is better than living with a stranger… Isn’t it?

But soon, Wes realizes moving in with Elias may have been a mistake.

Between the wild mood swings, strange occurrences, and total disregard for his new roommate’s privacy, Wes begins to wonder if Elias will be his savior or his worst nightmare.

When his wife reveals devastating news that destroys the final bit of shaky ground Wes was standing on, his new roommate may be all he has left.

Maybe that’s what Elias wanted in the first place… 

Or maybe it’s all in Wes’s head.

Elias invited him in…

Will Wes ever be able to leave?

Too Good to Be True by Carola Lovering ~5⭐

Genre: Domestic Thriller ~ Releases: March 2, 2021

REVIEW: Have you ever had mixed feelings about a book, then about half way through fell in love with it and couldn’t put it down? That is what happened to me in Too Good to Be True by Carola Lovering. I will be recommending this book for a long time! 

I hated Burke Michaels, I loved Skye Starling and felt sorry for Heather Michaels. About halfway through my understanding of what I was reading suddenly changed. I don’t know how the author lead me to this realization because it was very subtle. She is a genius. I love a book that plays with my mind. There were so many subtle hints and twists along the way. Not only was I engrossed in the story, I was trying to figure everything out along the way. 

I love a good Thriller. Some of them smack you in the face with the twists and like I mentioned earlier, this one is very subtle. I really liked the love story. That was definitely a big plus. Her writing was so easy to follow. Her characters were down to earth and most of them were likable. See if you can find the character that I hated throughout the entire story. 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley for a fair and honest review. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: ONE LOVE STORY. TWO MARRIAGES. THREE VERSIONS OF THE TRUTH.

Too Good to Be True is an obsessive, addictive love story for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Upstairs, from Carola Lovering, the beloved author of Tell Me Lies.

Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to have the world at her fingertips—she’s smart, beautiful, and from a well-off family—she’s also battled crippling OCD ever since her mother’s death when she was eleven, and her romantic relationships have suffered as a result.

But now Burke—handsome, older, and more emotionally mature than any man she’s met before—says he wants her. Forever. Except, Burke isn’t who he claims to be. And interspersed letters to his therapist reveal the truth: he’s happily married, and using Skye for his own, deceptive ends.

In a third perspective, set thirty years earlier, a scrappy seventeen-year-old named Heather is determined to end things with Burke, a local bad boy, and make a better life for herself in New York City. But can her adolescent love stay firmly in her past—or will he find his way into her future?

On a collision course she doesn’t see coming, Skye throws herself into wedding planning, as Burke’s scheme grows ever more twisted. But of course, even the best laid plans can go astray. And just when you think you know where this story is going, you’ll discover that there’s more than one way to spin the truth.

Love at First by Kate Clayborn ~ 4⭐

REVIEW: I never get tired of getting lost in a great love story. Love At First by Kate Clayborn was one of those stories for me. I was immediately sucked in and happily went along for the ride. What a ride it was! 

I think every character in this book was in some way damaged by love. Either their parents couldn’t show them proper love or they were spoiled by the love they had and lost. There were many kinds of love. Love between family, friends and friends that became family. 

One of the main characters in the book is an apartment building with six apartments. One apartment was recently vacated when it’s owner died. One apartment was left to the owners granddaughter who spent many summers there. The other four apartments  have older inhabitants. They all have a love for their home that has brought them together as family. I loved the character and feel of the old building that plays a strong part in the story. 

If you’re like me and love family, generational love stories, I highly recommend this book. This is my first novel by Kate Clayborn and it certainly has me interested in reading more of her books. 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher and #Netgalley for a fair and honest review. Thank you!

SYNOPSIS: Sixteen years ago, a teenaged Will Sterling saw—or rather, heard—the girl of his dreams. Standing beneath an apartment building balcony, he shared a perfect moment with a lovely, warm-voiced stranger. It’s a memory that’s never faded, though he’s put so much of his past behind him. Now an unexpected inheritance has brought Will back to that same address, where he plans to offload his new property and get back to his regular life as an overworked doctor. Instead, he encounters a woman, two balconies above, who’s uncannily familiar . . .

No matter how surprised Nora Clarke is by her reaction to handsome, curious Will, or the whispered pre-dawn conversations they share, she won’t let his plans ruin her quirky, close-knit building. Bound by her loyalty to her adored grandmother, she sets out to foil his efforts with a little light sabotage. But beneath the surface of their feud is an undeniable connection. A balcony, a star-crossed couple, a fateful meeting—maybe it’s the kind of story that can’t work out in the end. Or maybe, it’s the perfect second chance . . .

Do No Harm by Christina McDonald ~ 5⭐

Genre: Crime and Psychological Thriller ~ Releases: February 16, 2021

REVIEW: Oh my Goodness! I have never been so glad to finish a book in my life. Do No Harm by Christina McDonald was the paramount of nail bitters. This book brought a heavy blanket of doom to my life. Even as I tried to go to sleep last night, I couldn’t get the feeling off my chest that something was wrong. 

Something was wrong alright! Everything was wrong. The doctor who took a hipocratic oath, married to a police detective gets involved in selling opioid prescriptions to fund the life saving treatment for her son with a rare cancer. How far would you go to save your child? The book raises that question in your mind. Honestly, I couldn’t think that far. I was so wrapped up in all the lies and cover up. There were times I had to take a break because my heart was racing, my mind was racing and I simply had to slow it all down. 

If you love a good Psychological Thriller, then this book is for you. I loved the first two books by Christina McDonald but, I have to say she has knocked this one out of the park. This was not only a home run it was a grand slam. You’ll be hearing the cheers for this novel. Take my word for it! 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley for a fair and honest review. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: From the USA TODAY bestselling author of Behind Every Lie and The Night Olivia Fell comes an unforgettable and heart-wrenching novel about the lengths one woman will go to save her son.

Emma loves her life. She’s the mother of a precocious kindergartener, married to her soulmate—a loyal and loving police detective—and has a rewarding career as a doctor at the local hospital.

But everything comes crashing down when her son, Josh, is diagnosed with a rare form of cancer.

Determined to save him, Emma makes the risky decision to sell opioids to fund the life-saving treatment he needs. But when somebody ends up dead, a lethal game of cat and mouse ensues, her own husband leading the chase. With her son’s life hanging in the balance, Emma is dragged into the dark world of drugs, lies, and murder. Will the truth catch up to her before she can save Josh?

A timely and moving exploration of a town gripped by the opioid epidemic, and featuring Christina McDonald’s signature “complex, emotionally intense” (Publishers Weekly) prose, Do No Harm examines whether the ends ever justify the means…even for a desperate mother.

Redemption by Wendy Million ~ 5⭐

Genre: Romantic Suspense ~ Released: February 1, 2021

REVIEW: Wendy Million has done it again! First came Retribution, then there was Resurrection and now comes Redemption. So far, there are three books in this series. I’m not sure if there are going to be more but, if there is, I’m in. These books are so good! 

When I first read Retribution, I wondered what I got myself into. Not my kind of book. I said I would review it so…I read it. I’m telling you, I wasn’t too far in and I was hooked. I gave it a 5 star rating. Then came Resurrection and I had to read it to see what was happening with the characters I was so drawn to. Another 5 star rating. I heard about Redemption and wrote to Wendy to make sure I was on her review team. I didn’t want to miss out on an opportunity to review her new book in the series. 

Finn Donaghey is the main character and his lady is Carys Van de Berg. She is one lucky woman. Finn is a bad boy and a hunk to boot. It has to be a great series to rope me in as far as I am. I never thought I would like books with the FBI, CIA and the PLA but I do! Give this series a chance. You might like it as much as I do. 

I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. Thank you Wendy Million! 

SYNOPSIS: Finn Donaghey turned himself into the FBI to protect Carys Van de Berg, the love of his life. Now serving multiple life sentences, he can’t save her from the dangers lurking outside.

Carys won’t accept a life without Finn in it. While she plots to break him out of jail, other shadowy figures seek ways to take them down.

After Carys is injured in an explosion, Finn teams up with unlikely allies to hunt down the perpetrators.

In pursuing retribution, can he finally find redemption?

An Ordinary Life by Amanda Prowse ~ 5⭐

Genre: Historical WWII Fiction ~ Releases: February 9, 2021

REVIEW: An Ordinary Life by Amanda Prowse was a beautifully written book I didn’t want to end. I have read a few other books by her and enjoyed each one in it’s own way. This one had a whole different flavor for me.

The story starts out at the end of Molly’s life, goes back to her late teens and progresses back to the end. It was poignant, heartbreaking and deliciously satisfying. It is centered in England and partially takes place during World War II. I love Historical Fiction and this was a plus. Her characters were dealing with War on their home front, recovery after the war and difficulties in relationships during that time period. I loved Molly and her siblings they were warm and loved each other. I didn’t like her mother. Not one bit! 

Amanda Prowse always has something for us to look at in a new way in her books and An Ordinary Life was not different. Her books always draw me in, make me sympathize with the characters and give me a new understanding at the end. I don’t have to read a synopsis of her book too know if I want to read it. If it is written by Amanda Prowse, I want to read it! 

This book releases February 9, 2021. If you love Historical Fiction or family drama, I’m sure you’re gonna love this novel. 

I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher and Netgalley for a fair and honest review.

SYNOPSIS: From the bestselling author of The Girl in the Corner comes a tale of love, loss—and one last extraordinary dance.

Christmas Eve, 2019. Ninety-four-year-old Molly lies in her hospital bed. A stroke and a fall may have broken her body—but her mind is alive with memories.

London, 1940s. Molly is a bright young woman, determined to help the war effort and keep her head up despite it all. Life becomes brighter when she meets and falls in love with a man who makes her forget everything with one dance. But then war forces her to make an unforgettable sacrifice, and when she’s brought to her knees by a daring undercover mission with the French Resistance, only her sister knows the secret weighing heavily on Molly’s heart.

Now, lying in her hospital bed, Molly can’t escape the memories of what she lost all those years ago. But she is not as alone as she thinks.

Will she be able to find peace—and finally understand that what seemed to be an ordinary life was anything but?

To Forgive, Divine by Melissa Leedom ~ 5⭐

Genre: Contemporary Christian Romance ~ Released 2020

REVIEW: Heartwarming comes to mind when I think of the book written by Melissa Leedom named To Forgive, Divine. It is a story about Bonnie, a Christian woman who was widowed and left with two young boys. By the way, she has a good looking pastor who is also widowed. Can you guess where this is going?

I loved her characters! I think I’ve met every one of them at some time in my life. The most fun and aggravating is the nosey neighbor across the street from the pastor. Oh! Then there is the traveling salesman who happens to be married to the beautiful new woman in town. This story had me chuckling out loud at all the mishaps and missteps along the way.

There is a serious side to this novel. It is about learning to listen to God when he speaks to you and being his child and servant. I loved the witnessing and caring way of these characters. It made me remember that God put us here for each other. 

I really loved this book. It is a story of many different kinds of love. Valentines is just around the corner and this would be a great gift for your loved one or a treat for yourself. 

I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: Bonnie Callaway: Since the accident that killed her husband two years ago, Bonnie’s had no room in her heart for new love. She certainly didn’t plan to fall for her also-widowed pastor!

Jeff Wells can’t wait to see Bonnie again. But nosy neighbor Clara Adkinson informs him that he isn’t the only man in Bonnie’s life! Who is this other guy?

As their story unfolds in To Forgive, Divine, close friends (and closer enemies!) realize that things aren’t always as they appear. Even when they discover the truth, feelings of betrayal and distrust seem to destroy any hope of rekindling the love Bonnie and Jeff had started to feel for each other.

Enter a young boy who desperately needs help that only Bonnie and Jeff can give him, an embittered young woman who learns about forgiveness from these two people who can’t seem to forgive each other, and an estranged couple who need just a little push from reluctant lovers Bonnie and Jeff to re-write their own ill-fated love story. Bonnie and Jeff can’t avoid seeing each other even when they try!

As Bonnie and Jeff watch lives transformed all around them by the love and forgiveness of Jesus, they must confront their own failure to forgive. How can they recommend Christian love to everyone else and deny it to each other?

When Robin’s Appear by Densie Webb ~ 5⭐

Genre: Women’s Fiction ~ Released October 20, 2020

REVIEW: Have you ever read a book you were drawn to and not sure why? When Robin’s Appear by Densie (not Denise) Webb was one of those books for me. I picked the book up yesterday and finished it before going to sleep. I honestly can’t tell you why my tablet stayed glued to my hands. This book had such a profound effect on my mood and feelings. This morning, I feel broken.

The story is kind of a typical story if you don’t look at it too deeply. About half of it was a love story between 17 year old Amanda and 20 year old Graham. The other half is her family life with her mom, Deb and her Dad, Richard. I fell in love with this beautiful family. There is so much heartache underneath the story and as I sit here I think of all the little hints along the way. The little things you don’t want to pay attention to because you want all the happiness. 

Densie has magic in her to be able to write a book this powerful. I look forward to reading more from her. This is her first Women’s Fiction novel which was released in October of 2020. I certainly hope she continues to write such moving stories. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of this book. It’s a safe bet you’ll love and appreciate it as much as I do. 

I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. Thank you, Densie!

SYNOPSIS: With a lucrative freelance career and a loving family, Deborah Earle has a life many women would envy. But her daughter, Amanda, is heading to college soon, and Deborah worries about having an empty nest. She thinks another child might be the answer. Her husband, Richard, however, may not be willing to start over so late in life.

Amanda is excited about attending NYU next year, but she meets Graham, a handsome older boy, falls hard, and considers postponing her education to stay close to him. Her mother takes an instant dislike to Graham, but Amanda refuses to let her keep them apart.

As Deborah watches her daughter rush headlong toward heartache on an all-too-familiar path, the secrets lurking in Deborah’s past continue to echo in her present. When tragedy strikes, Deborah faces a future she could never have imagined.

The Last Tiara by M.J. Rose ~ 5⭐

Genre: Historical Fiction ~ Releases February 2, 2021

REVIEW: Fascinating! The Last Tiara by M.J. Rose had it all. There was mystery, intrigue, war, jewels, friendship, a love story and a woman in a male dominated field of work during the post World War II era. What more could you want? This book grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let me go. It was so interesting. 

The story takes place during two times periods and told by two different women. The mother during the fall of the Romanovs in Russia and the daughter in post World War II in New York City. I especially loved the setting in Russia, learning about their arts and life. I also enjoyed New York City in the post war time period when things were returning to normal. The author did a great job of weaving the two stories together.

This was such a rich story of relationships. She made the past come alive and I felt like I was a bystander watching it all unfold. The cover of the book is beautiful and of course the synopsis only tells you so much but, I was pleasantly surprised that this book was so much deeper and richer than I imagined. 

If you love Historical Fiction, I know this book is one you will want to add to your library. It is as multifaceted as the diamonds and jewels that are a part of The Last Tiara! 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher and Netgalley for a fair and honest review. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: From New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller M.J. Rose comes a provocative and moving story of a young female architect in post-World War II Manhattan, who stumbles upon a hidden treasure and begins a journey to discovering her mother’s life during the fall of the Romanovs.

Sophia Moon had always been reticent about her life in Russia and when she dies, suspiciously, on a wintry New York evening, Isobelle despairs that her mother’s secrets have died with her. But while renovating the apartment they shared, Isobelle discovers something among her mother’s effects—a stunning silver tiara, stripped of its jewels.

Isobelle’s research into the tiara’s provenance draws her closer to her mother’s past—including the story of what became of her father back in Russia, a man she has never known. The facts elude her until she meets a young jeweler, who wants to help her but is conflicted by his loyalty to the Midas Society, a covert international organization whose mission is to return lost and stolen antiques, jewels, and artwork to their original owners.

Told in alternating points of view, the stories of the two young women unfurl as each struggles to find their way during two separate wars. In 1915, young Sofiya Petrovitch, favorite of the royal household and best friend of Grand Duchess Olga Nikolaevna, tends to wounded soldiers in a makeshift hospital within the grounds of the Winter Palace in St. Petersburg and finds the love of her life. In 1948 New York, Isobelle Moon works to break through the rampant sexism of the age as one of very few women working in a male-dominated profession and discovers far more about love and family than she ever hoped for.

In M.J. Rose’s deftly constructed narrative, the secrets of Sofiya’s early life are revealed incrementally, even as Isobelle herself works to solve the mystery of the historic Romanov tiara (which is based on an actual Romanov artifact that is, to this day, still missing)—and how it is that her mother came to possess it. The two strands play off each other in finely-tuned counterpoint, building to a series of surprising and deeply satisfying revelations.

Mimi Lee Gets A Clue ~ Jennifer J. Chow ~ 4⭐

Genre: Cozy Mystery ~ Released: March 10, 2020

REVIEW: Mimi Lee Gets A Clue by Jennifer J. Chow was a cute and fun read. I was looking for a book that would be a change of pace from the books I’ve been reading. Some were serious and some were thrillers and this one was a cozy mystery. I have to admit that I haven’t read any cozy mysteries until now. I loved it! 

Jennifer did a great job with her characters. Mimi was fun and a bit of a sleuth with a talking cat named Marshmallow. There were her rich or wanna be rich customers of her pet grooming shop. A mother trying to set her up on blind dates and a lawyer boyfriend named Josh. There were several more quirky characters but, I was able to keep them all straight. That was a plus because I could read and enjoy! 

This book is number one in the Sassy Cat Mystery Series. There is a book two called Mimi Lee Reads Between the Lines. When I need a new cozy mystery to lighten up my life, I’ll be reading book two. If you need to lighten up your life, check out the Sassy Cat Mystery Series. You’ll be glad you did. 

I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: Mimi Lee is in over her head. There’s her new Los Angeles pet grooming shop to run, her matchmaking mother to thwart, her talking cat Marshmallow to tend to—oh, and the murder of a local breeder to solve…now if only Mimi hadn’t landed herself on top of the suspect list. 

Mimi Lee hoped to give Los Angeles animal lovers something to talk about with her pet grooming shop, Hollywoof. She never imagined that the first cat she said hello to would talk back or be quite so, well, catty—especially about those disastrous dates Mimi’s mother keeps setting up. 

When Marshmallow exposes local breeder Russ Nolan for mistreating Chihuahuas, Mimi steals some of her cat’s attitude to tell Russ off. The next day the police show up at Hollywoof. Russ has been found dead, and Mimi’s shouting match with him has secured her top billing as the main suspect. 

Hoping to clear her name and save the pups Russ left behind, Mimi enlists help from her dreamy lawyer neighbor Josh. But even with Josh on board, it’ll take Mimi and Marshmallow a lot of sleuthing and more than a little sass to get back to the pet-grooming life—and off the murder scene.