The Atonement by Kiersten Modglin ~ 5⭐

Genre: Psychological and Domestic Fiction ~ Release Date: July 1, 2022

REVIEW: Here we go again! Woohoo WHAT A RIDE! First we had The Arrangement. It was supposed to be a stand alone. Everyone wanted more. It was so good! So, Kiersten Modglin wrote The Amendment. That was awesome and more and more people begged and clamored for another installment of the lives of the Greenburgs. So, now on July 1st. The Atonement will be released for our reading pleasure. Let me tell you when you open this book, you better plan on planting yourself in your reading spot because you won’t leave until you’ve finished the book. This is the conclusion to the unintended Arrangement Series. I kind of hate to see these twisted human beings go!

There is so much going on in this book. Your head will be spinning when you are finished. Then, you are going to wonder what in the world you just read. Seriously! These characters are so rich and full. I liked them one minute and marveled at them the next. How could they do all of what they did to each other and their family? I don’t know but, I loved every minute I spent in their presence. I couldn’t pull myself away. I looked forward to each book with anticipation. There were countdowns by her reviewers waiting for The Atonement to be released to us. I have never seen that done before. We were like zoo animals trying to release that book from its cage!

If you have read any of this series, trust me you will want to finish it. You have to! There is no getting around it. If you haven’t read the series and love Domestic Psychological Fiction, this book and series is for you. It will literally blow your mind! Kiersten Modglin keeps getting better and better. Her devious little mind must work overtime. I don’t know another author quite like her. 

Way to go Kiersten! This is going to be a blockbuster hit. Now, I’m patiently waiting for another KMod book…

SYNOPSIS: The highly anticipated, nerve-shredding conclusion to the #1 bestselling ARRANGEMENT trilogy…

First, there was THE ARRANGEMENT—a scandalous story about Peter and Ainsley Greenburg’s attempt to fix their marriage, no matter the cost.
Then, came THE AMENDMENT—with their darkest secrets revealed, the couple set out in a treacherous attempt to repair what had been broken.
Now, Peter and Ainsley’s marriage will be put to one final test with THE ATONEMENT.

Ainsley Greenburg has always been a fixer.
But her latest attempt to repair her marriage left it more damaged than ever before.

Now, trapped in a vicious game of cat and mouse with the man she thought she knew, Ainsley must do what it takes to put out the fire their arrangement ignited.
But it won’t be that simple.

As Peter closes in on her, Ainsley finds herself driven down a path of paranoia and fear. Her only hope relies on her ability to trust her instincts, but they’ve let her down before. This time, there’s so much more at stake and the secrets waiting to be revealed will change everything.

Whom can she trust when her world is up in flames?
One wrong decision could cost her everything she has left—her family, her home, and her life.

And, with a final showdown looming, Ainsley must decide what she’s willing to let burn in order to survive. As the blaze continues to heat up, it’s only a matter of time before someone must atone for their sins.

Hot Cop Test by Hilary Grossman ~ 5⭐

Genre: Anthology ~ Release Date: June 28, 2022

REVIEW: Holy Toledo! Hot Cop Test by Hilary Grossman is super HOT! First of all this book is part of a steamy first responder charity anthology called Heroes with Heat and Heart Volume 2. It will be published on June 28th. Here is what the author told me about the efforts of her and the other authors:

“The team and I are desperately trying to make the USA Today list so we can bring more visibility to the difficulties facing wildland firefighters. Every penny this $0.99 anthology earns will go directly to the Grassroots Wildland Firefighters Organization. The other authors and I are not making a cent.”

I don’t know about you but that caught my interest right away. I went directly to the pre-order link and ordered my anthology. What a better way to help out this organization. If you don’t read any of the books it will at least put your money to a good cause. Order a few of them for friends while you’re at it. The authors and I are hoping you will read them and you might find a new favorite author!

Here is the link to order: https://www.amazon.com/Heroes-Heat-Heart-Charity-Anthology-ebook/dp/B09MPLD76V/ref=sr_1_1?crid=3KB8RICARXKJX&keywords=heroes+of+heat+and+heart&qid=1655912243&sprefix=heros+of+heat+and+heart%2Caps%2C135&sr=8-1

You may have to copy this link into your browser. It is easy to search at Amazon with: “Heroes With Heat And Heart”.

Hot Cop Test was such a fun book to read. Oh my! It is the prequel to Cop An Attitude. I enjoyed that book also and there is another installment called Cop A Plea in July! I mean who doesn’t like hunky gorgeous men especially men in uniform? They are always perfect to throw in between the more serious books. They always brighten my world for a while after finishing my time with them.

Hilary Grossman writes fun books that deal with serious subjects. Her characters are easy to relate to and bring such a lighthearted joy to my life. I always look forward to her next book.

SYNOPSIS: The hint of smoke. The flash of flames. When the wildfires burn through our towns, THEY step up to the fireline and risk their lives. Help us honor their bravery and sacrifice in this charity romance anthology.

All proceeds benefit Grassroots Wildland Firefighters organization.

Fall in love with the heroes of this steamy contemporary romance anthology, including stories by

Carina Alyce
EmKay Connor
LC Taylor
Harper Cross
D.M. Davis
Michelle Edwards
Hilary Grossman
Karigan Hale
Tracy Krimmer
D. Lilac
Andi MacDowall
Allie Marie
Ofelia Martinez
Lolo Paige
CB Samet
Heather Scarlett
Pandora Snow
Stacy Travis

And featuring an exclusive story by USA Today Best Selling Author Desiree Holt

Grassroots Wildland Firefighters Charity is a USA 501(c)(3) organization advocating for the health and safety of wildland firefighters.

Gambling With Murder by Lida Sideris ~ 4⭐

Genre: Detective Mystery ~ Release Date: March 22, 2022

REVIEW: Gambling With Murder is a Southern California Mystery by Lida Sideris. This is the first book I’ve read by this author and I will certainly be open to more. There were a lot of positives about this book. I would recommend it to my best friend.

I enjoyed the characters in the story. The main character is Corrie and is the daughter of a late PI. So, she seems to know her way around investigatiion. She is currently an attorney for a film studio. Her partner in her new adventure of investigation is Veera and this time her mom because they are going to investigate some crimes at an upscale Senior Housing Resort. Her boy friend is a computer science nerd and does online investigations for her. His name is Michael and I would have liked to see more of him in this book. All in all the characters were fun and interesting. They kept me coming back for more.

The plot of the book was a little bit like going in circles. I felt like it was drawn out a little bit and that some of the antics of the senior citizens could have been more interesting. You know most old women are looked at as being nosey. I would have thought more of them would have been hanging around trying to figure out what was going on and poking their nose in where it didn’t belong. But, that wasn’t necessarily the case. Sam seemed to be the ring leader for the errant seniors but, nobody knew who Sam was. 

All in all this was a pretty good cozy mystery. If you like cozy mysteries, check this one out. Lida Sideris has a few other books that are in a series and a children’s book. She might be your next favorite author!

SYNOPSIS: A late-night call is all it takes for rookie lawyer Corrie Locke to kiss her day job at the movie studio goodbye, and do what she does best: flex her sweet P.I. skills and go undercover to find a senior who’s missing from a posh retirement community. One small stumbling block: skirting past security to gain inside access to the exclusive Villa Sunset. Time to call in the heavy artillery. Besides former security guard turned legal assistant-now wannabe P.I.-Veera, Corrie relies on a secret weapon: her mother, a surprisingly eager addition to Corrie’s team. Armed with enough pepper spray to take down a band of Navy Seals, Mom impersonates a senior to infiltrate the Villa, Corrie and Veera in tow. Turns out the job’s not as easy as they’d thought. These seniors have tricks tucked up their sleeves and aren’t afraid of using them.

The action gets dicey when the missing senior case turns into attempted murder by a criminal mind who’s always one step ahead. Corrie’s hot on the trail, but finds more than she bargained for…when her mother becomes a target.

Till Death Do Us Part by J. S. Ellis ~ 5⭐

Genre: Phycological Fiction ~ Release Date: June 14, 2022

REVIEW: J. S. Ellis is back in the saddle. I loved her new book Till Death Do Us Part. This author came out with her first book in 2019! Wow and she already has several books out. I’ve read five of them and just now checked out how many I have to catch up on. She is prolific and good. What more can you ask for?

This story was about 270 pages and I flew right through them. She caught my interest in the first few pages and I had a hard time getting anything else done until I finished this book. Don’t you just love a book that grabs your attention and won’t let you go? I do! Those are the books that are right in my wheelhouse. 

Just real quick. A highly popular rock star goes to Malta to get away from it all. While there Carson Levin meets a hotel employee whose name is Abigail. He sweeps her off her feet. Needless to say she winds up in LA at his mansion that is where it gets kind of freaky. I really liked Abigail and there was not too much to know about the rest of the characters in the book. It was mainly Carson and Abigail. I liked Carson at first but, then later…not so much. You’ll have to read the book to see what I mean. I don’t want to spoil anything for you.

This is such an interesting story and you just can’t help but enjoy your time with it. It is listed under Psychological Fiction and Ghost Thriller. This isn’t a Sci-Fi book so you don’t have to worry about that. I’m not too much of a fan of those and this one just has a little. The plot thickens throughout the book and you don’t get the full story or the outcome of anything until the very end. Oh what an ending it was!

If you like Psychological Suspense or Domestic Thrillers you can’t go wrong! If you follow me and like the same kind of books I do, you will be completely drawn into this book. Happy Reading!

SYNOPSIS: Handsome movie star meets small-island hotel employee and sweeps her away to his glorious Hollywood mansion. Everything about Carson Levin seems too good to be true… until she steps inside his home.

Every inch of it is just as his sex symbol wife, Taira Anderson, left it before her fatal car accident. But the oddities don’t end there.

A presence wanders the halls.
High heels clicking over the floor.
Mysterious splashes in the pool.
The bath filling with water without a soul in sight.

Something or someone is trying to send Abigail a message. But is it a warning… or a threat?

The Final Hunt by Audrey J. Cole ~ 5⭐

Genre: Domestic Thriller ~ Release Date: June 7, 2022

REVIEW: All I can say is WOW! The Final Hunt by Audrey J. Cole is a super book for anyone that likes Psychological Fiction or just a story with a lot of twists and turns. I totally enjoyed every minute I spent with the characters. Ms. Hunt had my heart racing and my instincts alert. I got to a point in the book that did not allow me to put it down.

We find out early in the book that Cameron is married to John and he is killed in a bear attack at his hunting cabin. She starts going up there on the weekends because she feels close to John there. What she discovers while there is the evidence that her husband was the serial killer in the Seattle area. Can you imagine the man you are married to is a serial killer? Not only that, she never suspected. There were not any clues that she picked up on while he was still alive. 

I’ve got to tell you that Cameron has a lot of spunk. She does a lot of things in this book to save herself when she knows that the police were looking at her as an accomplice in the murders. She is one brave woman! She goes to Alaska, she flies her own plane and she is a dentist about to lose everything. I think if I were in her spot, I may have just waited for the police to come and get me. I loved the character development in this story. You have the good, the bad and the ugly. You’ve got it all.

I thought the story line was a little unbelievable at first but, as I got into it and looked back on it, I decided it was everything Cameron would have done. She was going to save her skin no matter what. I admired her spunk and tenacity. I think you will too!

The Final Hunt by Audrey J. Cole is up for pre-order. If I were you, I would order it now so it would be in my inbox on June 7th. You are sure to enjoy this thrilling book and will be cheering Cameron on until the very end.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from #Netgalley and #Rainier Publishing. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: Alone in a hunting cabin, off-grid in an untamed wilderness. How does a marriage come to this?

After John disappeared while hunting—presumed dead from a bear attack—Cameron found the crime photos. His role in the recent Seattle serial murders was discovered. The media destroyed her reputation. She lost her dental practice, is on the brink of losing her home.

Everyone has a secret. But if her husband could hide the unimaginable from her, who’s to say he’s truly dead?

“What brings you so far from home?” the Alaska State Trooper had asked. The truth.

Challenging Time by Lauren Lee ~ 5⭐

Genre: Crime Thriller ~ Release Date: May 17, 2022

REVIEW: Challenging Time is right! I just wrote my review and when I was preparing to post it, it disappeared just like Cameron in this book! Poof! Gone! So, I have searched like Dahlia and can’t find it. So, unlike her, I am going to recreate it.

Challenging Time was one of the best Detective stories I’ve read in a while. It kept me interested and on my toes. I found while I was reading this book that I have become quite involved with the characters and their story. I actually shed some tears! I’ve read this series from the beginning. It is called The Detective Dahlia Series and is currently five books. Each book is a different case and does well as a stand alone. To get the most enjoyment, I would adivse going back to the beginning and reading all of the books. You then become involved with Dahlia and her personal and professional life. 

In this book we know that Dahlia has become involved romantically with her partner Cameron. He suddenly disappears from his apartment and his job. The book delves into the search for him. Dahlia can’t eat or sleep because the love of her life is missing. Cameron’s disappearance consumes the department and her life. The U.S. Marshalls are called in to help. Hey, this is serious business when an Ashford Police Detective is missing! I won’t tell you how this book ends. I will tell you that I think I have fallen a little bit in love with Cameron myself thus the tears. You have to read these books if you love crime stories at all.

I’m not sure if this series has more books coming or if there will be a spin-off from this series. I’ll let you know as soon as I hear something. Go and get yourself copies of these books. Let me and Lauren Lee know how you like them. I can’t wait to hear from you!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: While she races against the clock, a man’s life hangs in the balance . . .

All hell breaks loose when a beloved Ashford detective disappears into thin air. Soon, a familiar face takes credit for the kidnapping and promises to kill his captive before the next sunrise.

Detective Dahlia works around the clock to hunt down her colleague’s abductor before it’s too late. However, even with all hands on deck, and help from the U.S. Marshals, the team falls prey to an infuriating game of cat and mouse. Hair-raising and heart-stopping, Challenging Time leads Dahlia into a lion’s den. She’s determined to leave no stone unturned, but will Dahlia find the hostage before the clock runs out? Only time will tell.

A Home for the Stars by Laura Kemp ~ 4⭐

Genre: Occult Fiction ~ Release Date: May 24, 2022

REVIEW: A Home for the Stars by Laura Kemp is book three in The Lantern Creek Series. In my opinion this is not a stand alone novel and you need to read the first two books in her series to enjoy the conclusion. You will be lost otherwise. I’ve read the first two books and it took me a while to figure it all out and put the pieces together. I admit I am not as young as I used to be and I’ve read a lot of books between the second book in the series and this one so my memory took a bit to kick in. I wound up loving this conclusion to the series. 

I loved her characters and worried throughout the book that Justine was going to change the future and would not be with Dylan in the end. I’m not going to tell you how this all comes out in the wash. I will tell you the majority of the book takes place years ago. Justine is transported back in time and meets her ancestors. Now, I think that would be awesome. Don’t you?

I fell in love with this series at page one of book one. I encourage you to read all three books. You’re going to love this series. It is different but, it is subtle in the beginning. I think the best way to read them is one right after another. When I finished book one, I had a hard time moving on to another book. I wanted more of Justine’s story. Now, you can start at the beginning and read your way through them and avoid any confusion at the end and satisfy your need to know more. The first book is Evening in the Yellow Wood and the second book is Snow in Summer.

In short my Michigan gal has done it again! I was hopelessly in love at the end of A Home for the Stars. I dreamt about Justine and her family, travels and experiences all night last night! That my friends is the sign of a good book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: “I was falling, the cold numbing my bones in a way that made me feel like I’d been caught in a storm blowing in from the Big Lake. I reached out, expecting to touch the soft sheets on the bed I shared with Dylan and felt something scratch my fingertips.”A mysterious Ojibwa petroglyph has carried Justine Cook back in time to the moment her unseen enemy is born. But something is wrong… Separated from those she loves, she finds herself in a strange world surrounded by people she has only known in dreams, and stalked by a man who now haunts her reality. And time is running out. Knowing that even the slightest misstep could change the future, Justine must call on the strength hidden within her to save the lives of those she has left behind as she uncovers A Home for the Stars.

Action and suspense combine with magic and compassion to create and exciting and satisfying ending for a twisting tale. Thank you for the adventure and the tears, Mrs. Kemp. Nola Nash ~ Award Winning Author of the Crescent City Series

A stunning conclusion to a brilliant trilogy. Laura Kemp’s skill shines on every page of “A Home for the Stars” as she deftly navigates complex characters through emotional quandaries, supernatural folklore, and edge of your seat action. Take a breath and hope the story continues. Rob Samborn ~ Author of Prisoner of Paradise

Scarred Crown by Wendy Million ~ 5⭐

Genre: Contemporary Modern Fiction ~ Released: May 18, 2022

REVIEW: Scarred Crown by Wendy Million is the second book of the Bellerive Royals Series. Fake Crown was the first book and if you read that, you will definitely want to read this next addition to the series. It was so good!

The first book was about Posey and this one is about her sister Julia, nickname Jules. Jules has a lifetime friendship with the second in line for the crown of Bellerive. His name is Nicholas or Nick. I love that name for some reason. Anyway, about the time they reach 16 and all those teenage hormones start raging, other people in their lives come into the story. I loved these two characters. They had a lot of passion, compassion and just downright big hearts. 

I have to give Wendy Million a lot of kudos. She has tackled some pretty big subjects in this book and makes it not only a fun romance read but, a book that will make you think and question some of your beliefs. I’m going to let those come as a surprise to you. It is better if you don’t have prior knowledge of the subject and are faced with your heartfelt feelings. I think this book would be a good bookclub choice because some of the subjects brought to light in this book would make good discussions.

If you love a good book that is all fun and games on the surface but, makes you stop in your tracks and think about your feeling on a controversial subject, then this book is a good one for you. You do not have to read book one to understand what is going on in book two. That is the beauty of this series. These two books do very well as stand alone novels.

The third book in the series is named Heavy Crown and is slated for publication on August 17th. I am so excited and can’t wait to read the next installment! It is up for pre-order. My suggestion? If you haven’t read either of the first two books, go order them now and then pre-order Heavy Crown to be delivered to your in-box upon publication. Happy Reading!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS:

PRINCE NICHOLAS
Years ago, she owned my heart.
As my childhood friend, she knew all my secrets,
And my true feelings about everything,
Except her.

When she hurt me,
It was too much,
Picking the one person I loathed,
Over me.

Being the son of a king isn’t easy,
Being the second son is even harder,
Which is why I left,
To work harder,
For myself,
For my family,
But away from the pain.

Now, we’re connected again,
And she wants me to return home,
To my father,
And that is not on my radar,
But she is,
Every single inch of her.
This time, she won’t slip through my fingers,
Or shall I say my crown?

JULIA
He bailed on our friendship,
Disconnecting from me,
And all that we built together,
Shattering my heart in the process.

Now, his father wants him back,
Needs him back,
And has ordered me to retrieve him.
Who am I to tell the king “No?”

One look at him,
And I remember why I loved him,
But I refuse to fall for royalty again,
Even if we’re this close,
Sharing one bed,
And our secrets again.
After all, when he discovers the truth,
There’s no battling the SCARRED CROWN that’s come between us.

This is a childhood best friends turned enemies to lovers second chance royal romance that brims with angst and witty banter.

My Wife Is Missing by D. J. Palmer ~ 5⭐

Genre: Domestic Thriller ~ Release Date: May 10, 2022

REVIEW: OH MY GOODNESS!!!! I finished the new book My Wife Is Missing by D. J. Palmer last night as I was trying to wind down for sleep. My mind kept whirling for a while after I shut the light off. What a brilliant book this is. I haven’t read anything quite like this one in a long time. 

This book is so believably twisty! I loved every second of it. A husband and his wife take their two children to New York City for a vacation. They are so excited to share their special city with their children. While Michael is out picking up pizza for dinner the first night, Natalie packs up the children and they make a run for safety. Michael comes back to an empty hotel room with only his luggage left behind. He immediately thinks someone has abducted his family. Police are called and a look at the security cameras tell them that Natalie has left with the children of her own free will. Why?

There are several factors working here. One is that Natalie has been suffering from insomnia and she also thinks Michael has been having an affair. She has started to have visions and delusions. Has she imagined things or are they real? You have to read this book to find out. There is so much to this story that I want to tell you but, I can’t! That would be giving away all the fun stuff. It is really more fun to discover all of the ins and outs of this story on your own.

I have truly enjoyed the other books I’ve read by this author but, this one is simply genius. My mind went in so many directions and yet I did not see a lot of it happening. I was surprised and I am sure you will be too. This book is not predictable at all. Just the opposite. So many times I thought I knew what was coming only to be blindsided with reality.

If you like Psychological Suspense at it’s fnest or Domestic Thrillers, then this is a must read! D. J. Palmer is brilliant! I haven’t read all of his books but, this has to be his best to date. I started my blog on April 3, 2020 and The New Husband by D. J. Palmer was my very first review on my blog Phyllis Jones Pisanelli Reviews. 

I recieved a complimentary copy of this book from the author, #Netgalley, and #St.MartinsPress. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: When a woman disappears with her two children, one husband will do anything to find them–even confront the secrets of his own past–in D. J. Palmer’s My Wife Is Missing, a twisty thriller from the author of The New Husband.

A family vacation turns into a nightmare for Michael Hart when he discovers his wife and two children have disappeared from their New York City hotel room. Horrified, he fears they’ve been kidnapped. Michael’s frantic search to find them takes a shocking turn when he discovers that his wife, Natalie, appears to have left quite willingly, taking their children with her. The police want to know why, and so does Michael. But there may be a reason why Natalie ran, something Michael can’t tell the police—the truth about his past.

While untangling his deceptions might be the key to locating Natalie, Michael knows it could also be his undoing. To find his wife, he must now turn to the one person capable of exposing all that he’s been hiding. Natalie thinks she has Michael all figured out and has hatched a plan to escape from him permanently. One detail, though, threatens to derail her efforts: sleep—or more accurately, the lack of it. Since the moment the shocking revelations about her husband came to light, Natalie’s insomnia has worsened to the point that she now suffers from delusions.

Are her fears about Michael valid—or a symptom of her condition? With her children’s lives at risk, the stakes for Natalie could not be higher. On her own, running low on energy and resources, avoiding increasingly close calls with Michael—who is on the hunt and closing in fast—Natalie needs someone to turn to for help. But who can she trust when she can’t even trust herself?

The Homewreckers by Mary Kay Andrews ~ 4⭐

Genre: Contemporary Women’s Fiction ~ Release Date: May 3, 2022

REVIEW: I’m running behind and just finished The Homewreckers by Mary Kay Andrews on Pub morning. If you love home make-over shows you will love this book. If you follow MKA on social media you know that she restores and decorates cottages. This was a fun book and I have liked the books I’ve read of hers in the past. I think she is one of those authors most of her fans buy her books blindly.

The story is about a woman named Hattie who works for her father-in-law restoring homes. She married the bosses son and became a widow at the age of 25. It is seven years later when this book begins. Hattie bought a run-down mansion and wound up selling it at a loss. There was just too much to fix and now she is out to prove herself. She is offered the co-host spot on a beach house renovation reality show. There are a few men on the show that may or may not become love interests.

I liked the characters. They were complex and MKA did a fabulous job with them. Hattie was down to earth and still grieving and missing her late husband. Time stands still for her until this new reality show comes along. It was fun to see her get wrapped up in this project and start living her life again. You have the other characters from Hollywood and you can imagine the fun that brought to the book. 

I have to admit that the first quarter of the book did not grab me like I thought it would. Then the introduction of the disappearance of a local school teacher from years before got my attention. Of course, you know I love a good mystery. MKA brought it! The last three fourths of the book was gangbusters! I really enjoyed it. I spent most of yesterday reading because I had to see what was going to happen and how the disappearance of the beloved school teacher worked out.

If you love mysteries and reality TV, then this is a book just for you! I’m really hoping Mary Kay Andrews might revisit this story line and make it into a series. I think she could write us a few more interesting sequels. I want to know more. So will  you!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from #Netgalley and #St.MartinsPress. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

To follow my blog, click on the heading of any blog post. This will bring up just that blog and you will see a follow button on the bottom right hand corner. Thank you! 

SYNOPSIS: Summer begins with Mary Kay Andrews, in this delightful summer read about flipping houses, and finding true love.

Hattie Kavanaugh went to work restoring homes for Kavanaugh & Son Restorations at eighteen, married the boss’s son at twenty, and became a widow at twenty-five. Now, she’s passionate about her work, but that’s the only passion in her life. “Never love something that can’t love you back,” is advice her father-in-law gives her, but Hattie doesn’t follow it and falls head-over-heels for a money pit of a house. She’s determined to make it work, but disaster after disaster occurs, and Hattie’s dream might cost Kavanaugh & Son their livelihood. Hattie needs money, and fast.

When a slick Hollywood producer shows up in her hometown of Savannah, Georgia, she gets a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity: star in a beach house renovation reality show called The Homewreckers, cast against a male lead who may be a love interest, or may be the ultimate antagonist. Soon, there’s more at stake than bad pipes and dry rot: during the demolition, evidence comes to light that points to the mysterious disappearance of a young wife and mother years before.

With a burned out detective investigating the case, an arsonist on the loose, two men playing with her emotions, and layers upon layers of vintage wallpaper causing havoc, it’s a question of who will flip, who will flop, and if Hattie will ever get her happily-ever-after.