A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anna Stuart ~ 4⭐

Genre: Historical Fiction ~ Release Date: November 5, 2021

REVIEW: A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anna Stuart was a well researched novel about the air strike over Pearl Harbor by the Japanese that pulled the United States into WWII. I enjoyed this book and the great research the author shares with us at the end of the book. 

The book takes place during two time periods. One during WWII and the other taking place in 2019. Two sisters Robin and Ashleigh are involved in a Treasure Hunt containing hints about their Granny Ginny’s early life as one of the first female pilots at Pearl Harbor and the secret she kept for years. The treasure hunt takes place after Ginny’s death. I loved her spunk and she was my favorite character. 

I liked both sides of the story but, for some reason I found it hard to switch back and forth. I think I got so involved and then the story flipped to the other time period and it took me a minute to get involved in the story again. 

If you’re like me and love Historical Fiction,  especially if it revolves around WWII, you will most likely love this book. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from #Bookouture and #Netgalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. 

SYNOPSIS: Ninety-eight-year-old Ginny McAllister’s last wish is for her granddaughter to complete a treasure hunt containing clues to her past. Clues that reveal her life as one of the first female pilots at Pearl Harbor, and a devastating World War Two secret.

1941, Pearl Harbor: On the morning of December 7th, Ginny is flying her little yellow plane above the sparkling seas when she spots an unknown aircraft closing in on her. She recognises the red symbol of the Japanese fighter planes almost too late. Somehow, she manages to land unscathed but the choices she is forced to make in the terrible hours that follow have tragic consequences…

2019, Pearl Harbor: Heartbroken Robyn Harris is reeling from the death of the strong, determined grandmother who raised her. Her only comfort is a letter written in Ginny’s distinctive hand which details a treasure hunt, just like the ones she used to set for her as a little girl. Except this time, the clues are scattered across the beautiful island of Hawaii. Despite her grief, Robyn finds herself intrigued as she follows the trail of letters, revealing the truth about Ginny’s service during the Second World War.

But Robyn’s whole world is turned upside down when she’s faced with a shocking secret which has the power to change the course of her own life…

Inspired by true events, this is a heartbreaking and unforgettable WW2 novel about love, loss and bravery. Perfect for fans of The Alice Network,The Nightingale and Kathryn Hughes.

4 thoughts on “A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anna Stuart ~ 4⭐

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s