Missing Daughter by Kiersten Modglin ~ 5⭐

Genre: Phycological Suspense ~ Release Date: November 8, 2021

REVIEW: Holy Cow! I don’t think my old heart can handle anymore Kiersten Modglin books. I just finished Missing Daughter and it is the best book I’ve read of hers to date. BTW…just kidding!! I’m a diehard fan and will read her books as long as I’m alive. Gosh, she is so good. I can never figure her books out nor can I see the twists before they hit me between the eyes. I don’t think you will either.

This book deals with every mother’s worst nightmare. Ginny wakes up one morning to find her three year old daughter not only missing from her bed but vanished into thin air. Cameron and Ginny tear the house apart and search their property to no avail. The police are called. I can’t tell you anymore. You have to read the book to get all your questions answered. 

If you love Psychological Suspense at its best, Missing Daughter by Kiersten Modglin is the book for you. I haven’t read another author quite a good as she is. Her books are compelling. I urge you to read this book and let me know what you think. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from #Netgalley, #Bookouture and #KierstenModglin. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.

SYNOPSIS: When I wake up with the sun in my eyes the morning after my daughter’s birthday party, I know something is very wrong. I go straight to her room but feel a surge of panic when I see an empty bed. Downstairs everything is totally quiet, and the front door is locked. Why didn’t I hear her scream? Who took our little girl?

My husband says I’ve been struggling since Skylar was born and that sometimes I forget things. But I remember every moment of my daughter’s party—including him locking the door after our family and friends left. Yes, we both had a drink and I slept heavily but I know I would have heard my child cry. A good mother always does.

My therapist says I need to stand up for myself. She wants me to confront my husband about the woman I heard him talking to the other night when he thought I was asleep. And about the child’s toy that I found that does not belong to Skylar. Is he hiding something?

But as the hours race by I soon realize I was totally wrong about everything that happened that night. I thought I’d put my past behind me long ago but I was wrong. All I know is this: I’ll do whatever it takes to save my child.

Will you believe me?

A heart-pounding, unbelievably twisty psychological thriller that will have you sleeping with the light on! Fans of Gone GirlBehind Closed Doors and The Stepdaughter will be utterly gripped.

A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anna Stuart ~ 4⭐

Genre: Historical Fiction ~ Release Date: November 5, 2021

REVIEW: A Letter From Pearl Harbor by Anna Stuart was a well researched novel about the air strike over Pearl Harbor by the Japanese that pulled the United States into WWII. I enjoyed this book and the great research the author shares with us at the end of the book. 

The book takes place during two time periods. One during WWII and the other taking place in 2019. Two sisters Robin and Ashleigh are involved in a Treasure Hunt containing hints about their Granny Ginny’s early life as one of the first female pilots at Pearl Harbor and the secret she kept for years. The treasure hunt takes place after Ginny’s death. I loved her spunk and she was my favorite character. 

I liked both sides of the story but, for some reason I found it hard to switch back and forth. I think I got so involved and then the story flipped to the other time period and it took me a minute to get involved in the story again. 

If you’re like me and love Historical Fiction,  especially if it revolves around WWII, you will most likely love this book. 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from #Bookouture and #Netgalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own. 

SYNOPSIS: Ninety-eight-year-old Ginny McAllister’s last wish is for her granddaughter to complete a treasure hunt containing clues to her past. Clues that reveal her life as one of the first female pilots at Pearl Harbor, and a devastating World War Two secret.

1941, Pearl Harbor: On the morning of December 7th, Ginny is flying her little yellow plane above the sparkling seas when she spots an unknown aircraft closing in on her. She recognises the red symbol of the Japanese fighter planes almost too late. Somehow, she manages to land unscathed but the choices she is forced to make in the terrible hours that follow have tragic consequences…

2019, Pearl Harbor: Heartbroken Robyn Harris is reeling from the death of the strong, determined grandmother who raised her. Her only comfort is a letter written in Ginny’s distinctive hand which details a treasure hunt, just like the ones she used to set for her as a little girl. Except this time, the clues are scattered across the beautiful island of Hawaii. Despite her grief, Robyn finds herself intrigued as she follows the trail of letters, revealing the truth about Ginny’s service during the Second World War.

But Robyn’s whole world is turned upside down when she’s faced with a shocking secret which has the power to change the course of her own life…

Inspired by true events, this is a heartbreaking and unforgettable WW2 novel about love, loss and bravery. Perfect for fans of The Alice Network,The Nightingale and Kathryn Hughes.